What I Wore: Summer Breeze

Eileen Fisher orange dress with turquoise bead necklace on Alison Gary of Wardrobe Oxygen Maxwell Scott handbag review via Wardrobe Oxygen Wardrobe Oxygen outfit post featuring Eileen Fisher, Born Shoes, and Maxwell Scott handbag What I Wore Orange Eileen Fisher Linen Knit dress with yellow sandals from Born via Wardrobe Oxygen Dress: Eileen Fisher (plus version, similar with sleeves) | Sandals: Born ‘Myndy' (similar, similar) | Bag: c/o Maxwell Scott Bags | Necklace: c/o Allison Dayton Jewelry (similar, similar) | Bracelets: cuff had forever (similar), c/o Lifetherapy, c/o Pura Vida Bracelets | Sunglasses: Ray-Ban

It's hot, it's humid, and the last thing I want to do is wear something fitted or structured. The color of this dress from Eileen Fisher appealed to me, but the breezy fabric and loose style is brilliant for sticky thick DC summer days.  This necklace is one of the first gifted pieces of fashion I received as a blogger and still one of my favorite pieces; I love the contrast of the turquoise against the orange and I love non-metal necklace when it's so hot out.

Maxwell Scott Bags reached out and asked if I'd like to experience a piece from their line.  I must admit I hadn't heard of the line before their email but now I am a fan.  Maxwell Scott isn't trying to create the next “It Bag;” all their pieces are designed to be classic, timeless, and improve with time.  Handcrafted from the finest materials sourced in Italy, Maxwell Scott bags have a 25 year warranty.  I chose the MedollaM Medium Saddlebag in brown, a bag I know I would have loved as a college kid, find chic now, and know will love for years.

UPDATE: Maxwell Scott has been kind enough to offer Wardrobe Oxygen readers 10% off their purchase. Sign up for Maxwell Scott's newsletter (link in the middle of their homepage); then click this link and automatically get 10% deducted in the shopping basket.  Valid until the end of August 2015.

Shop the Look:

350

25 Comments

  1. Pam
    July 29, 2015 / 12:20 pm

    Darling dress on you! Love the color. Love the shoes too! Good show!

  2. July 28, 2015 / 10:31 pm

    i love orange and yellow together! so pretty!!! xx lovejoystyles.com

  3. fashionforgiants
    July 28, 2015 / 5:04 pm

    I love how colorful this outfits is. You look fabulous!

  4. crtfly
    July 28, 2015 / 2:50 pm

    I think you picked the perfect outfit for your day in DC. I imagine that even the idea of sleeves makes you need to sit in the shade with your feet up, lemonade in hand.

    I’m not all that interested in purses, but that one calls out to me. It’s incredible. Sadly, I can’t spend that much on a purse. How fortunate that Maxwell Scott gave you one. That’s one of the perks of being a highly regarded style blogger? Well, you deserve it and much more for all your hard work and integrity.

    Chris

    • July 29, 2015 / 10:05 am

      Aww thanks Chris. It’s amazing in the past couple of years how many brands are willing to provide free product in exchange for being featured on blogs. I’m trying to be more careful, not just with things I’d actually want but things I believe fit well with the audience. These bags aren’t cheap, but the quality and style is excellent. Keep checking and consider signing up for their newsletter as they have sales every so often. I updated with a code for 10% off, but they may have better promotions in the future. And yes, the day we came back from NYC was disgusting, it was like stepping into an oven and the air was thick and muggy. So gross! Luckily this week has been far nicer!

  5. Rahrah
    July 28, 2015 / 2:46 pm

    Great dress! Thank you for suggesting the alternative with sleeves, I can’t wait to give it a try!

  6. July 28, 2015 / 11:10 am

    Yellow sandals are a thing that’s hard to find. I like yours!! Yesterday it was #cakewithcashmerette; apparently today’s your day.

    • July 28, 2015 / 12:01 pm

      Can I just thank you for mentioning Cashmerette? I never saw her blog before but now I have subscribed and am following her on IG. She’s fab!

  7. Lynn in RI
    July 28, 2015 / 10:00 am

    Alison – I really like the dress on you – the color and necklace look great!

    • July 28, 2015 / 12:04 pm

      Thanks Lynn, for this and for above. I let Gross just entertain herself, she’s not even on my life radar <3

  8. GROSS
    July 28, 2015 / 9:40 am

    just keep buying new clothes to fit your expanding self as you get fatter and fatter and grosser and grosser

    • Lynn in RI
      July 28, 2015 / 10:00 am

      Dear Gross – Please grow up. I post under my real name…you should try it – it is called being an adult and taking responsibility for your opinions and actions.

  9. Aimee
    July 28, 2015 / 9:06 am

    Oh my gosh, that bag is fabulous!

    • July 28, 2015 / 12:02 pm

      Isn’t it? Does it sound weird that I just like to smell it? It smells like this leather shop I remember from my childhood.

      • Aimee
        July 28, 2015 / 5:38 pm

        Heck no! Is it weird that I smell purses at the store? Funny story… I was at Marshalls one time and I caught another lady smelling a purse. I confessed that I do the same.

      • Aimee
        July 29, 2015 / 9:55 am

        I am sorry to keep posting, but I want to save up for that bag and need to know if it’s super heavy. Sometimes I buy purses that just weigh too much. Thanks…

  10. Carrie
    July 28, 2015 / 8:39 am

    Looking great, as always!

    I wanted to share a new-to-me shoe brand that I’m in love with: Fly London. I’m always attracted to wedges – I’m not even sure I can walk in heels anymore – so I saw this brand on the Nordstrom site and ordered a pair. LOVE. I can’t wait to get a fall/winter pair. They’re pricey, but crazy comfy and look fab. Just wanted to share since this is my main fashion inspo blog. 🙂

      • Ruth Slavid
        July 28, 2015 / 10:08 am

        Fly London is fantastic. I live in London but have never seen them in a shop. I have wonderful ankle boots and also flat sandals. And there is a huge choice of colours. Some of the shoes veer into ‘granny chic’ or ‘ugly chic’ but I rather like that. A lot of reviewers say that the shoes tend to be larger than the marked size but I find they fit fine – perhaps because I have wide feet. I don’t think they are designed for delicate little fauns. Allie, I love your orange dress with yellow sandals – ‘orange and lemons’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

powered by chloédigital