Product Reviews – Night Time Skin Care

41A9RdLIc7L. AA300

ir?t=whaevewomneei 20&l=bil&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B001KYVPRWPhilosophy's The Microdelivery Padsir?t=whaevewomneei 20&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B001KYVPRW
I bought these on a whim after hearing a couple online reviews and overhearing a conversation on the Metro where a woman, “Owed her skin and her renewed sex life” to these pads.  I figured, what the heck.  I read online that the pads were sort of big, so cut them in half to have the container last longer.

The directions say to use once a day or once a week depending on how sensitive your skin is.  I usually have sensitive skin, but these pads do NOT cause any burning, irritation, or redness.  I wash my face as usual at night, use half a pad on my face, then my neck/collarbone.  I then add my nightcream (more on that).

I didn't really see much difference after a week.  After two weeks, I still didn't see much of a difference, but I did realize that my skin wasn't breaking out pre-period.  After a month, I realized I went an entire month without any breakouts, and need far less foundation to look healthy.  I also see that my brown spot on my cheek is a bit more faint. 

So… I am a fan.  I love a product that makes me look like me, only better.  I love how utterly gentle it is.  I love that I have found a product that keeps me bump-free and doesn't have Salicytic Acid in it (allergic).  And I love that though it IS $55, I have enough for 200 evenings of treatment – that's a major bargain!  This product can be used anywhere on the body – I think it would probably be great for those weird bumps/clogged pores I and many other women get on their upper arms, I use it sometimes on my forearms and hands to counteract sun damage, and think it is doing great things for my décolleté!

Aura Cacia Natural Skin Care Oil, Sweet Almond, 16-Ounces (Pack of 2)ir?t=whaevewomneei 20&l=bil&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B001E72AE2Almond Oil for Night Creamir?t=whaevewomneei 20&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B001E72AE2
So I was reading a blog of a woman who obsesses over fabulous long, thick lashes.  She did some reviews of the new prescription-only products and had many comments about OTC products that also guarantee fabulous lashes.  Since having Emerson, I notice my lashes are a bit more brittle, and they have never been as lush and long as I would like (my sister has amazing lashes and Emerson has fab lashes and I would love to have even half of the lashes they do).  Anyway, in the comments I read that someone uses almond oil on their lashes at night and it keeps them supple and strong.

So I got a bottle of pure almond oil.  Hey it can't hurt, right?  Put a little on my lashes and while I'm at it, rub some into my cuticles.

Well I ran out of my night cream (Olay Pro-Xir?t=whaevewomneei 20&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B001JQLNNW from the starter kitir?t=whaevewomneei 20&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B001JQLNNW) and I thought hrm, why not almond oil all over my face?  I guess I was feeling bold since the Philosophy Pads were keeping me zit-free.  So I put a bit in my hand, rubbed it into my hands and cuticles and then rubbed it all over my lashes and whole face, neck and collarbone.  The next morning I didn't wake up all greasy and zitty… in fact my skin looked fantastic.  It was really soft and dewy looking, plump and healthy.  My cuticles and hands looked healthier too.

The almond oil from Aura Cacia is organic and very pure – no almond smell… no smell at all.  A little goes a very long way (been using for over a month and have only used maybe 1/6 of the bottle).  My lashes don't look that drastically different, but I seem to have less breakage and lash loss. 

I know this wouldn't work for all skin types, but for my sensitive, combination skin that is super dry and unhappy in winter… this is a total winner!

I am slowly cleaning out the linen closet and medicine cabinet of my half-finished bottles of not-yet-expired products and am going to need a face wash in about a month.  Any suggestions?  I would prefer something that isn't full of chemicals (figure I am getting my daily chemical allowance from the Philosophy pads), and no individual use/wipes stuff (want to keep it as eco-friendly as possible).  I don't need a scrub, just a gentle face wash.  Used Cetaphilir?t=whaevewomneei 20&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B0013WL1IE in the past and for some reason it doesn't like me and I don't love it in return. Right now I am using Purposeir?t=whaevewomneei 20&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B002BWOXXK and a travel sized bottle of Philosophy Purity Made Simple ir?t=whaevewomneei 20&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B00021C1NGand neither is bad, but neither really makes me write home to mom.  Your suggestions will be very welcome!

Follow:

29 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    June 13, 2010 / 11:32 pm

    Greetings Allie,

    Have you tried Trilogy cleansers (eg, their cream cleanser)? They are very gentle, ecofriendly, and do the job. See http://www.trilogyproducts.com.

    I also use their CoQ10 booster serum (oil) for my face morning and night, it’s just simply fab, as are all their products.

    All the best from NZ!

  2. March 24, 2010 / 2:48 pm

    I started using extra virgin olive oil on my skin a year ago or so and it has done fabulous things! My skin is clearer and when I get pimples, they fade faster. My SO uses it now too and his pores have shrunk. When I have a breakout, I’ll mix evoo with caster oil, massage into my skin for a minute or so and then steam my face with a hot washcloth. It soothes my skin, opens pores and works out the icky stuff.

  3. March 11, 2010 / 5:42 pm

    p.s. after buying the Origins cream i looked them up on Skin Deep, the safe cosmetics database, and they have lots of products with “moderately to highly dangerous” ratings. it makes me angry that they can get away with suggesting they’re all natural and organic when they’re using parabens and other terrible chemicals 🙁

  4. March 11, 2010 / 5:41 pm

    i made my own lotion using almond oil and beeswax and lemon juice, based on a recipe in Kitchen Cosmetics. it’s unreal. hadn’t thought about the straight almond oil but i’ve used straight vitamin e around my eyes and it seems to work nicely.
    these pads sounds fascinating- but a bit rich for my blood even if it is 200 uses… but i did just buy $45 cream from origins so maybe i’m branching out 😛

  5. Anonymous
    March 10, 2010 / 3:24 am

    I just started using the Paula’s Choice products by Paula Begoun about 4 weeks ago. The results are great and very noticable. I have used the face wash, toner, antioxident serum and moisturizer with sunscreen. They are all great products!

  6. Joy
    March 9, 2010 / 8:17 pm

    Look up the Oil Cleansing Method. Seriously, it’s fantastic. I’ve also been slowly cutting out the chemicals. Cleansing with oil has given my combination, acne-prone, sensitive skin a glow and softness that’s unbelievable. Love. It.

  7. Carletta
    March 5, 2010 / 7:35 pm

    I too tried Cetaphil only to break out..should have known from the residuy( is that a word?) feeling it left after washing. I say Aveeno Aveeno…best ever for my fickle/sensitive skin. Aveeno skin clearing lotion is the only moisturizer I have ever been able to use w/o breaking out. Plus all the products really give the skin a lovely glow.

  8. Anonymous
    March 1, 2010 / 9:47 pm

    I’d also recommend the Paula’s Choice line. Oil of Olay Foaming Face Wash (sensitive skin formula) is also good.

  9. FashionAddict
    February 28, 2010 / 5:45 am

    Great review. I’d really like to try the almond oil since my skin sounds a lot like yours.

  10. February 28, 2010 / 3:13 am

    I have ULTRA sensitive, fair skin and use Aveeno positively radiant cleanser and love-love-love it! It is only $6.99 at Target or CVS on sale and lasts months (6 or more I think, I’ve never actually kept track). Four small pumps is enough to do my face and décolleté.

  11. Anonymous
    February 26, 2010 / 12:24 am

    I have used numerous facial washes. Since I have combination skin that tends to be very oily and dry in some parts, one wash has been working great. It is JASON’s Red Elements gel cleanser. I found it on clearance and bought two bottles without trying it. It takes all the oil off of my face without over drying. I don’t know how well it removes heavy makeup since I lightly use Bare Escentuals. But after using Philosophy products, higher-end products, and all kinds of drug store washes, this is hands down my favorite.

  12. February 25, 2010 / 8:54 pm

    Paula’s Choice! After I had my first daughter, my skin looked terrible…ruddy, breakouts, flaky. I started using Paula’s Choice after a friend recommended the line, and I can honestly tell you I will never use any other line of skin care. I use her cleanser, toner, BHA liquid, antioxidant concentrate, and moisturizers every day, and I’ve had probably only 3 blemishes in the last 4 years. I know you only asked about a cleanser, but her whole line is incredible!

  13. February 25, 2010 / 3:37 am

    I bought some Aveeno gentle/illuminating cleanser this summer to take camping…loved it and saw no reason to change! I have sensitive skin as well and it has helped quite a bit with calming redness. I also react to lots of eye makeup removers so always want something that can take off my eye makeup without irritating my eyes (this does). Plus, it’s dirt cheap.

  14. February 24, 2010 / 3:05 pm

    Another Paula’s Choice user here also – the product lasts FOREVER! I bough the AHA & the BHA gels in Fall of 08, and I’ve not finished either. For cleansers, I’m a Purity (philosophy) fan, but lately I’ve been using the Oil Cleaning Method, and surprisingly, my skin is looking great.

    I’ve just been dabbling, but it’s cheap, and I havent had any breakouts since starting it. I use pure Jojoba, but I am going to pick up some Castor Oil today (along with some Almond!).

  15. February 24, 2010 / 1:34 pm

    Ive been using Origins products for a while. I have really sensitive skin and havent had a serious breakout in three years..
    You might give them a shot..

  16. Yicke
    February 24, 2010 / 11:46 am

    I’ve been using Dermalogica products for over two months now and am thrilled about how good my skin looks. Nothing dramatically different, but nice, supple, more even in it’s tone. I love them!

  17. February 24, 2010 / 11:43 am

    About two years ago I switched to Cetaphil followed by a swipe of T.N. Dickinson’s Witch Hazel and I’ve never been happier with my skin. I have combo skin at 45 and the witch hazel (especially in the summer) keeps my skin breakout-free. Sometimes simpler is better.

  18. Anonymous
    February 24, 2010 / 5:05 am

    I’d second the recommendation on Paula’s Choice. I’ve been using her products for 10 years now, and my skin is in great shape. It does n ot declare itself as natural but most of her ingredients are fine. Also, a cleanser is the least problematic product since it is rinsed of almost immediately, leaving no time for the chemicals to be absorbed. I would still advise against the cleanser in her Acne line, due to its triclosan content. That is one yucky chemical. I personally use her Skin Recovery Cleanser, and I was even washing my newborn with it and I am a Mom who tries to raise a green/organic baby (no kidding!). I find her prices great considering the quality of her products. She has a 60 days hassle free return policy (tested personally) and really helpful customer service.
    BTW, I don’t work for her, I don’t even get 1 cent off my orders for recommending her so enthusiastically and refering new customers. And I do not even like her personally. But her knowledge and her products simply do work. I have converted many friends to be a fan.
    Irene.

  19. Anonymous
    February 24, 2010 / 3:57 am

    I am 50 and always get compliments on my skin. I use St. Ives Makeup remover and skin cleanser. It is CHEAP, and makes my skin feel better than many high end cleansers. i usually order on amazon.com

  20. jeudi
    February 24, 2010 / 1:34 am

    *$35

  21. Anonymous
    February 24, 2010 / 12:03 am

    I use either an Aveeno Gentle foaming cleanser (I don’t know how “green” it is) or a skin oil.

    I actually use the almond oil you do to cleanse. I massage it in lightly, spray with water, massage a bit more and then remove with cotton pads.

    I have very dry skin but my sister who has combination skin uses it as well. According to her doctor, if your oily skin doesn’t have oil, it doubles up and produces way too much. I think this happened to my sister when she used a lot of products to dry the oil.

    I’ve also heard Burt’s Bees has a nice cleanser. I’ll try to find out which one is the best.

    Christine

  22. Anonymous
    February 23, 2010 / 11:20 pm

    Since about age 35, I’ve been able to get by with no factory-made cleanser at all. I just use plain olive oil to take off makeup, etc. and then tone with witch hazel on a cotton ball. Done. Zero breakouts and (not that I go fishing for compliments) but people tell me I look like I’m still in my 20’s.

  23. Jennifer
    February 23, 2010 / 10:52 pm

    Paula Begoun, author of “The Cosmetics Cop” and “Don’t Go to the Cosmetics Counter Without Me” has a great line of her own, which I just discovered. She has several gentle cleansers, including one for acne prone skin and they are very economical as well.

  24. February 23, 2010 / 7:45 pm

    I highly HIGHLY recommend all Desert Essence products, including their face wash. It is amazing and natural.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

powered by chloédigital