Wicked Beauty: Simple Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Wicked Beauty by Phyllis Bourne for Wardrobe Oxygen

Most facial cleansing products promise to make quick work of make-up removal. I usually just grab one from a department store beauty counter or drugstore, and then mentally prepare to put some elbow grease into the job.

It often takes two attempts or another cleanser to get my face completely clean. No matter how pricey the product. So when I picked up Simple Micellar Cleansing Water at Walgreens, I automatically grabbed another new-to-me cleanser as a back up.

I started the day in full war paint mode – tinted moisturizer, concealer, mascara, eye shadow, eye liner, bronzer, blush and lip gloss – more than my typical five minute face. Later that evening, I cracked open my new bottle of cleansing water and a pack of cotton pads. Following directions, I applied the cleanser to a pad and wiped my face with it.

The instructions pointed out there was no need to rub. So I didn’t. Discarding the dirty pad, I soaked another one and wiped my face again – and was amazed.

Simple Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Not a smidgen of make-up was on the second pad! Zip, zilch, nada! Simple Micellar Cleansing Water had rid me of a face full of makeup with very little effort. But that’s not the best part, afterward my skin felt soft and moisturized. I didn’t even bother with moisturizer.

Never again will I go into a store and grab a random facial cleanser thinking they’re all the same. Simple Micellar Cleansing Water has become my go-to brand in just one swipe. I caught it on sale for $5.99 at Walgreens.

Phyllis BourneA Harlequin romance author and former newspaper crime reporter, Phyllis Bourne writes to feed a growing lipstick addiction. When she’s not at the computer, she can be found at a cosmetics counter or her favorite hair salon spending the grocery money. She lives in Nashville with an understanding husband, who in one kiss can discern the difference between department store and drug store lip gloss. Check her out online at www.phyllisbourne.com.

Untitled

19 Comments

  1. Jenn
    May 14, 2015 / 11:26 am

    I just bought some last night and tried it and loved it! I love Simple products anyway, every other brand breaks me out. I did have to use eye make-up remover to take off my long-wear eyeliner. The Simple water took some of it off, but not all. But it totally took care of my tinted moisturizer, concealer, blush, eyeshadow, powder, eyebrow gel, and mascara! Thank you for the tip!

    • Phyllis Bourne
      May 21, 2015 / 8:56 am

      That’s great, Jenn! Glad it’s working for you!

  2. May 13, 2015 / 1:29 pm

    I just bought some of this! I’m using it as a toner after I wash my face, since my skin has become very reactive lately. It’s great and so gentle.

    • Phyllis Bourne
      May 13, 2015 / 2:03 pm

      Hi Catherine! And it leaves your skin so touchable!

  3. Dani Stephens
    May 13, 2015 / 11:58 am

    Cool! I’m adding this to my list!

    • Phyllis Bourne
      May 13, 2015 / 2:03 pm

      Hope it works for you, Dani!

  4. Aimee
    May 13, 2015 / 10:20 am

    Thanks! I never go to bed without using a cleanser and I’ve used several expensive brands. The pad never comes off clean the first time. I look forward to trying this.

    • Phyllis Bourne
      May 13, 2015 / 11:54 am

      I was shocked it only took one pad, Aimee! Hope you get the same great result.

      • Aimee
        June 23, 2015 / 9:43 pm

        I finally tried this last week and it is a game changer. It is so much easier than my pricey department store creamy make-up removers and works better! I use this, then wash my face and when I use the toner, the pad is clean the first time. Amazing! I usually have to reapply the toner several times before it’s clean.
        Thanks so much!

  5. Patricia
    May 13, 2015 / 8:51 am

    I’ve been reading about this. I want to try this. Thanks for the review.

    • Phyllis Bourne
      May 13, 2015 / 11:53 am

      You’re welcome, Patricia! It’s so light. I think spring/summer is the perfect time to try it out.

      • Patricia
        May 13, 2015 / 1:43 pm

        Just bought some today… testing tonight!

        • Patricia
          May 14, 2015 / 8:16 am

          Aaaaand it worked! I have a new make-up remover.I did use my usual skin cleanser afterwards but I probably didn’t need to.

          • Phyllis Bourne
            May 21, 2015 / 8:58 am

            WONDERFUL! Thrilled to hear it, Patricia! I’m tempted to use a moisturizer afterwards, but love the way the cleanser alone leaves my skin feeling.

  6. Linda B
    May 13, 2015 / 7:55 am

    Wow–I am so trying this as soon as possible!

    • Phyllis Bourne
      May 13, 2015 / 11:53 am

      I think you’ll like it, Linda B. Come back and tell me what you think of it!

      • Linda B
        May 20, 2015 / 8:26 pm

        I bought a bottle of the Simple cleansing micellar water a few days ago, and I have to say it does do a great job! Thanks again for the recommendation.

  7. May 13, 2015 / 7:39 am

    Agreed – this is good stuff. xo

    • Phyllis Bourne
      May 13, 2015 / 11:52 am

      I was pleasantly surprised, Patti!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

powered by chloédigital