Natural Deodorants Review (Including one for Lume)

the best natural deodorants - a review of several brands and how well they worked over time

I’ve reviewed natural deodorants in the past, but after a reader asked for an update in the Wardrobe Oxygen community on Facebook, I felt it was time for a new post. Since my last natural deodorants reviews, I have tried a few more as I hadn’t yet found a natural deodorant that works for me.

What is “Natural” Deodorant?

The term natural deodorant is misleading, and many different deodorants with very different ingredient lists use this term. While I don’t like this term, I choose to use it for this post as this is the term used to market these deodorants.

Many people choose a “natural” deodorant because they’re looking to reduce aluminum, parabens, and other chemicals. That was one of my reasons for seeking such a deodorant; another is because I wasn’t satisfied with traditional deodorant/antiperspirant products. After decades of using them, I didn’t find them as effective and didn’t like the weird smell I had. It was like a mix of body odor and fabric softener. Doing the research, it sounded as though a natural deodorant would help clear out plugged sweat glands, improving my body smells, requiring less product.

I previously shared my experience with Native Deodorant and going through deodorant detox. After that, I shared reviews of several natural deodorants. That was over a year ago, and since then I have had different results with products I previously reviewed and tried new products. Below, a timeline of my natural deodorant journey and the products I tried.

May 2017: I Made the Switch to Natural Deodorant

Before it got too hot, I decided to try natural deodorant. There is a detox period of 2-3 weeks when switching where your body is getting rid of the old deodorant that is in your sweat glands. This period is nasty, and you will smell like a mix between hot metal and B.O. It wasn’t fun, but I found showering twice a day, exfoliating my pits, and wiping my pits with alcohol helped greatly.

I used Native Deodorant, which got great reviews online and seemed to be advertised on every social media channel. At first, it was hard to tell whether it worked or not because of the detox period. Once my body stopped smelling horrible, the product seemed good. And then the next day, my armpits had a fiery rash. I learned this was common and a reaction to baking soda, and ingredient in Native Deodorant and many other natural deodorants.

At the end of May, I went to NYC to host an event with a brand and forgot my deodorant at home. They had E.O. Lavender Spray Deodorant in their office bathroom; that with some personal cleansing wipes got me smelling fresh after the train trip and worked reasonably well through the event that evening. At that event, I ended up in a conversation about natural deodorant with some attendees. One of the guests told me about Piperwai. She was an inventor and met the folks behind Piperwai Deodorant and thought they and their product was amazing. She inspired me to order a jar that very night.

June 2017: I Filled my Amazon Cart

Armed with a fresh jar of Piperwai, I decided to do a true natural deodorant review and ordered a dozen different types of Amazon and various websites. This is my original natural deodorant review. After that review, my three winners were Piperwai, Meow Meow Tweet, and E.O.

August 2017: Another Natural Deodorant Bites the Dust

It seemed like everywhere I went, I smelled cat pee and I don’t have a cat. I finally realized it was me every time I wore Piperwai. This stuff seemed so great, I was so disappointed. I decided to cut it out for two weeks to see if it was Piperwai or just natural deodorant in general. In those two weeks, Piperwai contacted me and sent me a stick version of their deodorant.  Once the two weeks was over, I used that. For the first week back on Piperwai, things were great. I smelled like nothing most days. But eventually the cat pee smell came back. However, my husband continued to use Piperwai and smell just dandy.

If there’s something I learned through this process is that everyone is different and what works for one may not another. And that what makes me smell like cat pee may make you smell like a rose.

September 2017: Bye Bye Meow Meow

Meow Meow Tweet had my heart. The name was cute, the label was cute, the smell was awesome. Meow Meow Tweet is what I used when I took a Piperwai break and it was pretty effective. Not as effective as Piperwai, but enough that I felt comfortable in public. But all good things must come to an end and by the end of September Meow Meow Tweet had come to not accomplishing anything. Over time, it lost its effectiveness. I even bought another tub, thinking the first one may have lost its oomph after having my fingers dip in it so often. A new tub didn’t change the fact that I smelled like body odor coated in Froot Loops.

While I still had E.O. Lavender spray I learned early on that it wasn’t a replacement for a true deodorant. As a spray, it was great as a refresher mid-day but not as a sole product to keep the funk at bay. I still have this product and love it for travel, but it’s not an everyday product.

November 2017: Limping Back to Lavanilla

I tried Lavanilla Sport Luxe during my original review and found it… fine. I liked how nicely it glided on, and it didn’t give a rash. I still had the stick of it so I decided to use it up. The temps had dropped, I figured I wouldn’t need as heavy duty a deodorant. And it worked okay enough. I usually had to do a touch-up mid-day but that wasn’t a big deal. However, after a few weeks again I started to smell like cat pee.  My husband uses up the stick, thinks it works okay, though not as effective as Piperwai.

December 2017: Back to Traditional Deodorant/Antiperspirant

I started working out regularly and no natural deodorant in my house could keep up. I gave up and went back to Dove. Immediately, I smelled better. When I switched to natural deodorant I felt I was less sweaty and stinky. Well, switching back to traditional deodorant gave me the same experience. I forgot what it felt like to have non-sticky, dry pits and to not have to wash my clothing after every wear. It was awesome, I couldn’t go back; I decided I would just try to be more natural in other aspects of my life.

I used Dove and only Dove for a month or two, and then I wasn’t satisfied. To boost it, I added Certain Dri, applying the roll-on every evening. That helped, but after a week Certain Dri started itching and burning a few minutes after application. I switched to only using Certain Dri the night before I had an event. Once my stick of Dove ran out, I switched to Degree which seemed to work better. However, when that stick ran out I stood in the aisle at Target for a long while wondering what to do next because none of the scents appealed to me and I felt like nothing was really doing what it claimed it would.

the best natural deodorants - a review of several brands and how well they worked over time

August 2018: Influenced by Influencers, I Try Kopari

It seemed like every blogger suddenly got into natural deodorant and that natural deodorant was Kopari. Unlike mass-influencer campaigns like Olay Whips that turned me off, this one turned me on. Kopari was working with bloggers I respected, who were known for being more honest, more down to earth, less likely to rave about just anything. And so I bought a stick.

I didn’t have to go through a detox with Kopari, I switched right to it and it seemed to work. Not only that, it smelled great. I love the smell of coconut, and this smells like coconut. And when your body heats up, it smells like warm coconut. The container is cute, it glides on easily, I was an instant fan.

And then three weeks later the stuff stopped working. Like overnight, it went from warm coconut to burnt coconut and body odor. I understand that with natural deodorants you need to switch them up every so often, but it seemed no deodorant lasted even a month. Sorry, but I have neither the time nor money to change my deodorant every few weeks.

Since this stuff stopped working but did work at one point I’ve stuck this into my toiletries kit in case I again forget to pack my regular deodorant for a trip.  My husband had no desire to smell like coconut so I don't know how it worked for him.

September 2018: A Mist of Cashmere… and Funerals

During all this research, people time and again raved about how much they loved Donna Karan’s Cashmere Mist deodorant. It was so effective! The smell is amazing! One stick lasts forever! Your skin will feel like silk! It survives hatha yoga and spartan races and 16-hour flights! It cures cancer! It's not natural, but considering how I don't even have success with traditional deodorant/antipersperant products I decided to try it.

  • Day 1: I smell fancy. No B.O. even after a grueling morning at the gym.
  • Day 2: Wow, this stuff has an uber strong scent. Maybe I’m just too used to regular deodorants, maybe I can make this my news signature scent instead of perfume. It works great.
  • Day 3: This stuff is overwhelming and giving me a headache. Maybe I’m just overly sensitive to the scent because my period is coming. It works really well.
  • Day 4: I smell like decade-old potpourri. This is not chic. However, the stuff works well and I have nothing else in the house right now and it was not cheap so I’ll keep using it for now.
  • Day 5: I snuggle up next to my husband. “You smell weird,” he says. “Yeah, kind of like potpourri? It’s my new deodorant. Is it bad?” He says, “You smell like dust and mildew and dried flowers. You smell like a funeral.”
  • Day 6: I go to CVS and buy a stick of Degree. My husband takes the Cashmere Mist, continues to use it, likes it, and doesn’t smell at all like a funeral.

December 2018: Facebook Ads Are Effective AKA I Try Lume Deodorant

That lady with the orange dress and bad accent got me. I saw Lume Deodorant ads all over Facebook, on Instagram, even showing up on my own site (my ads are through a network and affected by content on the site as well as content the viewer was searching or reading prior to visiting). The commercial compared Lume to products I tried and found ineffective, it was free of baking soda so no rash, and I liked that it could be used places other than the underarms. I bought a stick of their original and a stick of their unscented.

I started with the unscented option… and I didn’t like it. It smelled like paste and I didn’t find it terribly effective. I started by rolling it on, but then learned to click up a regular amount of traditional deodorant product and use my finger to wipe off half of it and rub it into one pit, and then the other half for the second pit. Rubbing just with the stick doesn’t get it deep enough; using your finger will get you a couple more hours. Even so, I was lucky to get six hours before I smelled.

I then switched to their original version. Their original version is scented lavender and clary sage and the scent is pretty strong. I’m not a big lavender fan, so I wasn’t expecting to like this. The scent is about 75% gone after an hour, and what’s left isn’t super potent. Again, I found it more effective to rub it in with my fingers. The formula is creamy, absorbs nicely, leaves skin feeling soft and moisturized. No irritation, even when applied to freshly shaved pits.

I use the unscented version for other parts of the body. Lume Deodorant is safe for external use anywhere and the unscented does a good job of keeping feet and nether regions having less odor without making them smell like something else.  If you're keeping track, my husband has not yet used Lume as he's still using the same stick of Cashmere Mist (reviews say one stick lasts forever and they're right).

January 2019: Lume Deodorant Is Still Working

I'm on on week 5 of Lume Deodorant and it is still working. Unlike other natural deodorants, I haven’t had to touch up middle of the day. I do touch up before going out in the evening and apply after every shower. Lume claims to work for 72 hours and that is not so for me. I can put it on in the morning after my post-gym shower, wake up the next day smelling faintly of lavender and clary sage, do another application and go to the gym and leave the gym still only smelling like lavender and clary sage. I don’t even get such results from Dove or Degree (which leave me smelling like hot fabric softener and toilet bowl cleaner).

Based on my previous natural deodorant experiences, I cannot guarantee that I will continue to like Lume. However, thus far it has been the most effective, one of the most comfortable to wear, and one of the least offensive fragrances of all the natural deodorants I have tried.

Natural Deodorants Lesson Learned

Almost every deodorant on the planet works for my husband but doesn't work for me. Fingers crossed Lume does the trick or I am back to the deodorant drawing board!

Shop Products Mentioned in this Article:

123 Comments

  1. ps
    September 14, 2019 / 3:54 pm

    Beware of piperwai. If you look up reviews of it, people say it stained their clothing. i had not noticed so i went to look at my clothing while using it and sure enough. my light colored bras and clothing had a permanent grey stain.

  2. Ashley Buzzard
    September 11, 2019 / 2:51 pm

    Like many of the commenters here, I have tried EVERY.THING. I’ve probably spent a 1,000 in natural deodorants to still smell like a pack of 12 year olds after gym class. I am also allergic to the high levels of baking soda and/or arrowroot many products use. I’ve been using Lume for 6 months now and I am still in love with it. I do notice that every couple of months I’ll get a little funky and I attribute this to a hormonal disorder I have. Since Lume seems to claim from their commercials that is is really the bacteria under your arms I thought maybe I get a bacterial overgrowth on occasion? So, as weird as this sounds I started once a month putting a Lush Mask of Magnominty facemask under my arm pits for ten minutes to kind of kill any build up under my arms. I’ve been really pleased how much better my life has gotten because of doing this–I don’t smell and I don’t have to go back to a non-natural deodorant. I am also glad to read all of thiese comments in addition to the article, because if/when Lume starts to fail me I can cycle through and try some of these other recommendations.

  3. Em
    September 11, 2019 / 2:02 am

    The baking soda free version of Meow Meow Tweet works great for me, no smell at all… but it stains my shirts! It totaled my favorite t shirt before I realized what was happening. It gave my shirt huge pit stain looking marks that won’t wash out no matter what. Tried oxiclean, vinegar, bleach, folex.. etc… its weirdly resistant. Smells good though, and no rash. Had to stop using it though because pit stains are not the look I want, lol.

  4. Em
    September 11, 2019 / 2:02 am

    The baking soda free version of Meow Meow Tweet works great for me, no smell at all… but it stains my shirts! It totaled my favorite t shirt before I realized what was happening. It gave my shirt huge pit stain looking marks that won’t wash out no matter what. Tried oxiclean, vinegar, bleach, folex.. etc… its weirdly resistant. Smells good though, and no rash. Had to stop using it though because pit stains are not the look I want, lol.

  5. Jaskirti
    August 27, 2019 / 1:41 pm

    This a great post. Just to add onto this, i purchased Corpus Natural’s deodrant, hoping being so expensive it would deliver on it;s promise….. I remember using Dove’s aluminium stick and God how great did i smell! But using this made me realize how horrible my B.O. is.
    I tried Lume (Lavender Sage), which definitely works for 24 h, but it has a weird fragrance of it’s own self that i just couldn’t stand. I am going to try Piperwai as it has good reviews, but if that also doesn’t work then i am going back to Lume.

  6. Elizabeth
    August 22, 2019 / 2:47 pm

    The only natural deodorant that I found really works for me is the Kiss My Face brand. However, I think they have gone out of business as I cannot find them and AmZ does not have them anymore.
    I have tried other brands and not satisfied. It truly is a dilemma.

    • Margaret Feltham
      August 27, 2019 / 4:00 pm

      I am so upset because I used KMF Peaceful Patchouli for many years and now it’s no longer available. I have tried various natural deodorants and have not yet found one I like or that works. The fragrance free don’t work and I can’t find another one with Patchouli. I am very sensitive to most fragrances and haven’t found one I can tolerate. I just heard about Lume but none of their fragrance options sound like something I can tolerate. Have tried other deodorants and got a headache from the scent.

  7. V
    August 8, 2019 / 11:51 am

    Hello, after many tries, PHresh works best for me. But some of the fragrances are definitely better than others (the floral ones can smell sickly sweet on me). Also, although they come in stick form, sometimes it’s better to use hands to apply…the stick can be crumbly. I wish it were a tad softer, ie, more creamy or lotiony. But very effective. I use it more when I know I’ll be more sweaty, including trips to Mexico.

    • HuShy Aquino
      August 18, 2019 / 3:03 am

      Im currently using Lume and so far it is working for me. I didn’t like the unscented kind but i love the Jasmine and Rose scented one. I tried to switch to a non-aluminum based deodorant since im starting to have an allergic reaction to Secret. (I’ve been using Secret for over a decade). Tried pure Alum Rock and the Crystal but it didn’t work for me. I like it for that fact that it keeps me dry and no smell but i had an itching and redness from using it. Saw the Ad of Lume and was intrigued so i decided to try it. So far so good. I also ordered Native Sensitive which i will try after i finished my Lume. With Lume i prefer using my finger to rub it instead of swiping it. I get better coverage and it really lasts the whole day until the next day. I don’t know about detox but i didn’t experience any kind of body detox from my transition to an aluminum based deodorant going to natural.

  8. Gretchen
    August 7, 2019 / 10:04 am

    I have tried so many aluminum free options without much luck. I wonder how much I have spent over the years. I’m currently using Primal Pit Paste Zinc formula along with the oil because my skin is sensitive. Most days I do well. If it is super hot and I’m outside doing yard work or hiking it doesn’t hold up. I have my Lume order in and I’m curious how it will work. I’ve switched because of the link between aluminum and Alzheimer’s. Both of my biological grandmothers suffered with the horrible disease. I also find that ditching the aluminum has made my auto-immune disease less inflamed. Even my face looks thinner. I have tried EO, Native, Burts, Pure Haven, Crystal, Jason, and others. My husband just shakes his head as he applies Old Spice.

  9. Jessica Puckett
    July 23, 2019 / 10:58 pm

    SOOOOOO, I’ve been using LUME for a few months… It worked wonders at first. I was so, so, so pleased. However, recently, when my B.O. returns, it surfaces HARD. HARD as in I have been awoken from my sleep just from the stench. Hard as in I can still smell it after soaping & scrubbing vigorously in the shower (I shower AM religiously; sometimes PM). I’ve continued to use it bc I still have it and don’t want to return to traditional D.O.

    It is summer so I expect to sweat more. Also smell more. I’ve also increasingly awoken in the middle of the night with what I call “anxiety sweats”, which I feel, from my experiences, smell more (shrug). Anyways, if this thread is still active and any commenters have good advice/ can relate, let me know. I don’t want to return to traditional deodorant, but I’m getting to the point where I can’t handle it.

    • Rebecca
      July 23, 2019 / 11:12 pm

      I’m giving Lume a try right now, but went with unscented since i couldn’t test any of the scents beforehand. I’m not sure I like it, and I’m still having to use it every day after showering. I might go back to Lavilin, which I get on Amazon. It’s a little more expensive, but it works great!

      • HuShy Aquino
        September 6, 2019 / 2:58 am

        I regret buying the unscented one. It smelled like paste. Ugghhh. Lume only works for dry armpits. Once you sweat it washes away the product and you end up getting a weird smell in your armpits

    • Anita
      August 16, 2019 / 1:57 am

      I used Lume for almost 3 months. I didn’t have a smell problem before using it and I have been using natural deodorants for over a decade. Lume is by far the worst deodorant I have ever used. I smelled better not using any deodorant compared to using Lume. I would put it on and smell within an hour without even sweating. I gave it a whole 3 months because I had bought 3 tubes. Well finally I used my old deodorant again. No smell in 48 hours and I live in Arizona in 115 degree weather. Lume does not work for me.

    • Elsie
      August 24, 2019 / 11:26 pm

      I’ve been using Lume since late June. It worked so well at first. After years of PiperWai, I was excited to have something that worked without the rashes. However, the last few weeks, I smell awful. Awful awful awful. Rotten onion BO. And it’s so embarrassing, I’m a hairstylist so I’ve got my pits in peoples faces all the time, I cannot smell like this. I’m going to try over the weekend to figure this out, if that doesn’t work, it’s back to PiperWai. I may have rashes, but at least I don’t smell like my son after working at fast food.

    • Cindy
      September 2, 2019 / 12:58 pm

      I’ve been using Lume for about a month and I have no complaints. I have a pet bird (green cheek conure) that loves to snuggle in my armpits (silly bird lol) so I wanted to find something that would be less toxic to her, should she get it on her feathers. I smell like an absolute nothing using Lume, and I also notice it seems to have an anti-perspirant effect on me, even though it does not claim to do this for everyone. Anyway, if it stops working I’ll go back to traditional deodorant and just make sure to only let my bird snuggle when I have long sleeves on, haha.

    • Sbrasher
      September 5, 2019 / 6:22 pm

      This…right now….this is what is happening to me. Does it pass? What did you do?

    • Susan Caglin
      September 7, 2019 / 5:03 pm

      I’ve been using Lūme for about a month and ended up with a horrible underarm rash. Raw, red and painful in the crease. At first I thought it was a yeast infection. I live in FL, so heat is no joke. I started drying under my arms with a hairdryer etc and cleaned the applicator really well and ended up with the same rash in the other pit. So I stopped using the Lūme all together and went back to my Secret that I had left over. After a week or so, the skin started sloughing off and then everything was back to normal.

      I just started using the Lūme again, thinking maybe it was just the wetness and heat that caused the irritation, yet here we are the next day, and my pits are reminiscently itchy again. I’ve not been sweaty at all just being lazy in my house. Ugh! I really liked Lūme too. I never got the 72 hours out of it, but would at least get 24. Add to that it held up perfectly after a summer day at the theme parks. Unlike my feet.

      • Mon Barr
        September 16, 2019 / 8:03 am

        Hi! I have this same rash but I can’t stop using it because it completely blocks B.O like no others. I have been putting diaper rash cream because I think my pits are way more sweaty with Lume, I’m thinking because it’s water based. Idk but I don’t want to stop wearing it ever. This rash is so itchy though. I don’t want to smell and I hate this rash but people around me can’t smell a rash so I am torn.

    • Ashley Buzzard
      September 11, 2019 / 2:56 pm

      I had this same experience with Lume and what I did was put a Lush Mask of Maginimity mask under my armpits for ten minutes when the stench re-arrived and it would go away for a few more months. I have hormone issues because of PCOS so I can get really stinky. Maybe try that out? But, I definitely understand the scrub your pits and still the the smell–that happened to me to–and now with doing the mask it isn’t.

    • Edna
      September 12, 2019 / 8:38 pm

      Jessica,
      Hace you tried to make your own deodorant? I don’t know of you are alergic to baking soda, if not I strongly recommend the recipe from wellness mama. It is the only one that works for me.

    • Paige
      September 14, 2019 / 3:56 pm

      I know exactly what you are talking about! when i am not using deo when im at home…i have the worst BO of my life. never had this experience with another deo.

    • Tala
      September 17, 2019 / 10:46 pm

      I currently use Lume only for a couple weeks and like it. In addition to using that though I also drink liquid chlorophyll as an INTERNAL deodorant. I have been shocked at the success I’ve had with this product. It REALLY WORKS from head to toe, breath to butt, liquid chlorophyll is a stinky persons lifesaver. If I ever have to switch deodorant my next option will be magnesium based. It’s a mineral we all need and most of us lack. Hope this helps!

    • Emily
      September 18, 2019 / 1:09 pm

      My sister had the same experience. She said Lume was great… at first. But after a while she smelled worse than before.

      I am trying Lume, but I’m only a week into it. This post is making me think I need to have my natural deodorants on a rotation, where I use one for a month and then switch to the other one for a month.

  10. Feldman
    July 20, 2019 / 1:18 pm

    You need to check out Rustic Maka! They are an all natural, family company. I love their products, especially the Dream Catcher deodorant. No baking soda in the Dream Catcher. They also have detox kits that really work. Plus it is all cruelty free!

  11. Anna
    July 19, 2019 / 2:09 am

    Hi team How to Survive Switching to Natural Deodorant! I have struggled with this for several years and resisted and continually gone back to anti-persperint aluminum deodorants that are bad for my body but have kept me smell free- yay! Well I finally decided to make the commitment over the past 6 months and am going through the lovely process of bodily smell acceptance and change- mmm- roses and BO lol! My dear friend who is a beautiful goddess angel health beauty music guru told me I have to accept the process and my body will adapt. But I am a Jersey girl and we don’t always do well with smelly pits haha! Well I made the mistake one day of not finding my Schmidts and throwing on some Secret and my armpits have been rebelling against me for the past month or more- painful sad face! I am very grateful to have found this blog because I don’t know where to turn or what to do with this rash, odorous and transitional process- it’s worse then trying to grow out bangs lol! I am searching for a pleasant solution and to understand what creatures exist under my arms so that I can make them happy and smell free in a natural way! What are these trolls??? I am ordering LUME based on reading this blog over Native but it kind of seems like maybe Deodorant is like shampoo and conditioner and you need to find a rotational balance??? Thoughts?? Help?? Diet tips?? More Pineapple??

    Love,
    #thearmpitstruggleisreal

  12. Rachel
    July 4, 2019 / 6:54 pm

    This was very interesting. I’m surprised that Crystal wasn’t mentioned anywhere though. I haven’t tried any other natural deodorants because I first bought a stick of Crystal in 2014 and I’ve been happily using it (the same one!) since. It’s not an antiperspirant, but it works magically as a deodorant. I often only shower every other day and it works straight through. And it has no problem keeping me odor-less through a very sweaty workout or a long walk on a hot day. I’ve found that the critical key is to apply (the mineral stick) immediately after showing. If I forget and wait even like 15 min, it’s not as effective for the whole day. It can be reapplied, but only if you wash your pits with a wet cloth. I’ve never experienced any irritation. And I love that it leaves no residue on my clothes, so I’m often able to wear shirts 2-3 times between washes if I don’t sweat a lot, and they never get crusty or stained.
    I’ve also used it on my feet occasionally in the summer when I’m wearing flats that get stinky, and it seems to help.

    • July 5, 2019 / 6:10 am

      I haven’t reviewed crystal in about a decade. I never found it worked for me but it does for my husband!

      • Kelli
        July 18, 2019 / 9:42 pm

        Have you tried Nuud? That one seems to work pretty well for me but I’m considering Lume to compare.

      • Macie
        August 4, 2019 / 1:59 pm

        Crystal is alum right? That’s aluminum salts. It is the aluminum I am trying to get away from

    • Tor Strasburg
      July 8, 2019 / 10:33 pm

      I’ve been using Crystal over 20 years. I have the same experiences as you. It is indeed almost magical. My current stick has lasted years but I only have a small piece left. I was considering trying Lume. The review here is the most negative I’ve read on it.

    • HuShy Aquino
      September 6, 2019 / 3:04 am

      I have mentioned Crystal and the pure Alum Rock. It worked for me but i had an allergic reaction after a few days of using it. So i switched to Lume. Still trying to see how i like it. Then i will try Native after.

  13. Rebecca
    July 2, 2019 / 2:40 pm

    I can’t use antiperspirants because I developed an allergy to aluminum. So far, I haven’t seen anyone mention the two products I use successfully — no irritation and no stink! I use Soapwalla during the cold months when I don’t sweat as much. It does contain baking soda, though, so if that irritates your skin, don’t use it. In the warm/hot months, I use Lavilin. Both are available on Amazon. The Lavilin is amazing.

  14. Nina
    July 1, 2019 / 7:29 am

    If Lume ends up not working for you, try Native again! They offer a sensitive skin option now. No baking soda!!! I had the same issue with rashes with their original kind, but I’ve been using the sensitive one ever since (2+ years) and no problems. My mom uses Young Living brand deodorant. It is scented with essential oils and uses all natural ingredients. Toms would be anothe one to try. It’s more of a gel stick which I don’t like, but it usually smells very pleasant.

    • Jennifer
      August 20, 2019 / 11:02 pm

      That is what I was going to say, the sensitive skin is the best I have tried!

  15. Leah
    June 7, 2019 / 1:05 pm

    I have been using lume (scented) for 2 weeks now and I’m already starting to stink again. It was perfect the first week and I’ve even done an armpit detox (bentonite clay and apple cider vinegar). My pits dont smell that bad, but the sweat that gets on my closes smells pretty bad. This is the first aluminium free deodorant I have used in years. I used to use dove, which I agree wasn’t fantastic, but worked most of the time. I’m going to try switching up my deodorant like you suggested.

    • Aj
      July 12, 2019 / 6:39 pm

      If it is only your clothes that stink, make sure you got the residues off your clothes too during the detox period. The lume website recommends a couple pre-wash treatment products to get your old deoderant off your clothes (one is the Nature’s Miracle spray I think?).

      • Courtney
        July 16, 2019 / 9:19 pm

        I treat all of my tops with Nature’s Miracle and when I wear Lume (which hasn’t worked for me yet), my tops will smell like I haven’t worn deodorant in a week. This only happens when I wear Lume.

    • nicole
      August 20, 2019 / 7:49 pm

      same for me! I have actually found that LUME works great for my lady bits. but doesn’t work A TON better than regular deodorant for my pits. I find that on super hot days it only works roughly 5 hours before I start to reek again. it seems to be more my clothes that reek than my skin. I treated all my clothes with natures miracle and also spray after each wear but it doesn’t seem to better lume’s capabilities. I’ve been using it about 3 weeks now and still…..only about 5 hours on hot sweaty days. on other days where I don’t sweat as bad it lasts maybe 10 hours before I start to smell again. I definitely has NEVER lasted 24 hours for me. if I don’t reapply before bed I REEEEEK the next morning. not entirely sure it’s worth the price.

  16. LadyD
    June 6, 2019 / 3:06 pm

    I am in the exact same boat. I’ve tried tons of natural deodorants and none have worked for me. Degree stopped working completely. As did Lady Speed Stick (my two go-to’s for years). I went with arrowroot/coconut/baking soda, fantastic! the stink stopped and I felt great. Then I noticed my armpits were darker than my arms…like really really dark. Apparently this is a thing…SIGH. Okay lets go natural. EWWWW. No stop, wait, really. I don’t shave and I don’t use deodorant at all. What I DO do is wash my armpits as part of my morning routine. I just wipe out the pits and the private areas and I don’t smell terrible. Yes I still smell, that is my natural pheromones. That is you. When it starts smelling sour it’s time to wash (usually once a day). If the smell is tough I will wipe with alcohol. Bye bye smell. I’ve been doing this for months now and no one has said I stink. Yes I sweat, but you are supposed to. I’m not sure if this helps anyone just get off the body products bandwagon. You really don’t need as much as you think. Good luck!

  17. Abby
    June 4, 2019 / 10:33 pm

    Lume broke my pits out and turned them black within 48 hours of using it. One the second day my armpits were so irritated and on fire that I had to stand under a cold shower. I tried the unscented version. Tossed it.

  18. DES
    June 1, 2019 / 10:20 pm

    I broke out in the ol’ baking soda rash from Schmidts but then I switched to their sensitive skin formula! I love the stuff, especially the unscented stuff. Even going to the gym and sweating pretty hardcore I never smell like BO. I just ordered Lume to try, so I’m pretty excited to see how that goes. But for the meantime I’m a devotee of Schmidts sensitive skin. I think I’ve been using it for a couple of years now with no ill effect.

  19. Kris
    May 18, 2019 / 12:35 pm

    Interesting blog 🙂
    I JUST saw the Lume add and it intrigued me (thats how I ended up reading your blog). I proceeded to look up the ingredients and couldn’t pronounce half of them…which is usually a red flag for me…it does say “naturally derived” but really, isn’t everything naturally derived (then manipulated in a lab)? I was wondering your opinion.
    Suggestion: I have also tried many natural deodorants, and have also dealt with baking soda rash BUT I have been using “Schmitts charcoal magnesium” for over a month now and am pretty happy with it…ya, its sold in the mens section but smells great for uni-sex. I used to use “schmitts rose lavender” but it was grainy and gave me rashes…i’m assuming because once you scratch your skin it will irritate very easily…especially with baking soda! ouch!

    • Aj
      June 8, 2019 / 9:19 pm

      I think the whole “if you can’t pronounce it, it’s not natural” is blown out of proportion. All plants and animal as well as most molecular compounds have more exact scientific names that are difficult to pronounce. Dihydrogen monoxide is a chemical name for water. Matricaria recutita is a species of the Chamomile plant. Canis lupus familiaris is the scientific name for the domestic dog.
      I know it probably sounds nit-picky, but trying to use short cuts like this to determine if a product is safe can make perfectly good products be passed up because most people don’t study chemistry or latin. I have seen products which are natural use almost exclusively the exact scientific names for each ingredient on the label before. I could pronounce almost none of them on sight but it was easy to find out exactly what had been used in that product.

  20. Miryam
    May 17, 2019 / 2:35 am

    I loved this blog review! I finally watched the Lume ad in my fb feed and laughed and liked the ad. Then I’ve gone looking, as I have learned to do, for reviews before I just BUY anything I see advertised no matter how cute the ad is! And this is the first review I decided to read. I too have tried several “natural” ones and they’ve been ok or varied for me but not lasted long. I liked that Lume was supposed to last for 3 days. I generally use Dry Idea which lasts me a long time, but I wanted to get away from all the chemicals.

    I just wanted to say that I loved your writing, was entranced by the whole journey and will look for more from you! Just because, even if I’m not looking for actual products.

    • May 17, 2019 / 8:44 am

      Thank you so much Miryam! And regarding Lume, I am still using it. I finished my first container, used the unscented, didn’t love it, and bought the tube and roll-on of the scented and I’m maybe 1/3 through the tube. Still works great!

  21. Dawn K
    May 11, 2019 / 5:22 pm

    I used to lume for about 6 weeks and it worked great but then started giving me a rash. Stopped using it for a month and started again but so did the rash. Very sad. I think the scented one smells like a musty tent so I will only use the original unscented. I hope they come out with some kind of floral, feminine scent in the future.

    • Alyssa
      May 26, 2019 / 11:00 pm

      I loved using Lume original as well. Right before I was about to order another stick, I developed rash as well. I took a break like you did and tried again. But again, i started to itch and rash came back.
      I am back to using Native, which works decently, but I think it makes my armpit darker and it does not roll on smoothly. I really wish I can continue to use Lume. Thinking whether if I should give Lume unscented try….
      I tried Myro as well which glides smoothly (little wet feeling initially) and container is so pretty. But I did not think it worked well for me… (only used few days at a time. )

      • Hpav81
        June 26, 2019 / 11:00 am

        I too have this problem with the rash!! I am so sad! I waiting weeks and tried again and BAM rash again. I use the unscented. Blah. Off to the deodorant drawing board.

  22. April
    April 22, 2019 / 5:41 pm

    So I’ve been using Native for a few years now, and I like it, but it didn’t start out great. For weeks I smelled awful, was horribly sweaty, and had a rash. When I found out it was my body’s detox, I also found a recipe for a pit detox and tried it.
    1 tablespoon bentonite clay
    1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
    1-2 tablespoons of water, to get a clay consistency
    Mix in a glass bowl with a non-metal spoon. Spread evenly in armpits and leave on for 5-20 minutes. (start with 5, and work your way up as you get used to the mixture) You have to keep your arms raised because lowering them causes the clay to break up and fall off, so I usually apply before a bath and then rest my arms on the sides. Wash off with warm water and a washcloth. Apply daily for the first week, but after that, you can do the detox once a month to maintain. Sometimes I actually go a few months.
    This detox helps clear everything out and doing that periodically helps the deodorant not have any issues. Also, say I shave at the sink because I want to wear a tank top, and end up with red bumps later. Boudreaux’s Butt Paste, or some Aquaphor clears it right up. I was extra sensitive and got lots of rashes again while I was pregnant, and the idea struck me to use diaper rash cream (since I was looking at baby stuff constantly)
    I have always been majorly sweaty, and have sensitive skin. I constantly hated deodorants and just assumed they didn’t work for me, and I really wanted to kick the chemicals. Going the extra mile to keep things under there maintained allows me to use a “natural” deodorant that also does its job.

  23. L.L
    April 16, 2019 / 5:25 pm

    I am a HUGE fan of Lume! Been using it over six months now. I am a MASSIVE sweater, and honestly Lume does not help in that aspect. However, I’ve always heard that is healthy to sweat. Rids body of many toxins. I bathe /shower before bed. Before Lume, I would wake up smelling horrible. My sheets smelled horrible! I was washing bedding every other day. Ugh! Weather it is something in my diet, or just my genetic make up, it was GROSS! I tried every deodorant, antiperspirant, clinical brands, and even got a prescription from my doctor. NOTHING, I mean NOTHING worked. Lume was my last alternative. Let me tell you! This stuff was a game changer!! I woke up morning number one after using Lume, and WOW!!! NO stink!!!!! I still was doubtful. It was too good to be true, right??? NOPE!!! Six months later & I’m still in love with this stuff! And my sheets are lasting longer! Haha! Now, I do still sweat, but I’m fine with that as long as I don’t stink! Everyone’s body chemistry is different and will react differently to things. What works for one person may not necessarily work for another. But at least we can throw options of brands out there for people to try! Great article and comments!

    • Nightski
      June 4, 2019 / 8:19 pm

      I can’t express how comforting it is to see someone else that has the same sweating issues as I suffer from! My clothes all get shout in the armpits ever wash because the sweat stains are absurd! And like you said, it wouldn’t be so bad if I knew I didn’t smell! I JUST bought Lume and stared two days ago. After NEVER having a deodorant that could hold up to my sweating and Native started causing me rashes I turned to Lume. Really hope I get the same experience as you have had, thanks for sharing!!!!!!

  24. April 9, 2019 / 12:48 pm

    So I am on the verge of buying Lume to try for the first time too. It’s actually been on my mind for months and I’m the type of frugal person that will evaluate then reevaluate my decision before buying anything. It’s such an aggravating process I do with myself. Anyway, I was reading on the Lume site about cleaning your clothes before trying Lume. Basically getting all of the oils and such out of your pit areas on your shirts and to use Persil(yay I have been contemplating using Persil for year, another blog another day) to “strip” your clothes. Did you have to do this?

    I too over the course of the last few years have horrible BO smell under my arms and I sweat a lot. My hormones are out of whack and have been since having my son in 2010. To furthermore prove that I get hormonal/menstrual migraines monthly. I know this is all related and I surely hope Lume is my answer. I probably could’ve written some of this post I feel. I have tried all kinds of deodorants! Thanks for the blog post by the way.

    • April 9, 2019 / 1:14 pm

      Persil is our JAM! It’s the only thing that will get the funk out of clothes. We got it for activewear and some camping stuff that got mildewed but it is great for removing body oils and BO from clothes. However, we didn’t do an actual stripping before switching to natural deodorant, only on anything that still smelled funky after a normal washing. I didn’t change anything before using Lume.

      I am on my second order of Lume. Right now I am using the tube as I found the roll-on messy. Lume says they changed the container for the roll-on and it should work better so I got the two-pack of roll-on and tube but started with the tube. I think it works for about 24 hours but my daughter says I still smell a little “like body.” Body is fine to me, BO is not and I think it continues to prevent that without irritation like I’ve found with many natural deodorants. Hope that helps!

      • Carmen
        April 26, 2019 / 1:39 am

        I loved Lume! Used it for about 8 weeks then all of a sudden got a bad rash…didn’t hurt or itch but looked bad. I stopped for 2 weeks and tried again and the rash came back 🙁 Sooo sad! It really helped me from smelling for at least 24 hours. I am back to Navient and just reapply throughout the day as needed. I will try Lume again a month or so.

        Are you still using Lume?

        • Carmen
          April 26, 2019 / 1:41 am

          Lol..back to Native…darn autocorrect

          • Natalie
            May 1, 2019 / 8:00 pm

            Just the fact that Native autocorrected to Navient for you… I felt your pain. I’m in the same boat loll

        • Alyssa
          May 26, 2019 / 11:11 pm

          Same issue for me. Were you using Lume orginal scented or Unscented?
          I developed rash with scented one. Wondering whether I should try the unscented one.

          • Carmen
            May 27, 2019 / 1:09 am

            I was using the scented one. I took a whole munch off and also started to apply a little less and now only to the parts or my arm out that grow hair (as per instructed by Lume rep). As of now, no rash! I had tried the unscented but not for very long as I really didn’t care for the smell.

          • Carmen
            May 27, 2019 / 1:11 am

            Wow! Sorry for all the typos!

          • margaret gehrlein
            June 9, 2019 / 11:20 am

            OMG so glad to read I am not he only one who got a Lump rash after 4-6 weeks–had to go to the dermatologist….gave it 3 weeks off–tried again—rash is back and awful! So bummed now I don’t know what to try–I am using organic baby powder….sigh.

    • Marie
      May 6, 2019 / 12:27 pm

      Yes, I did use the 1 part persil, 4 parts water. I’m on day 4 of Lumē and it’s worked GREAT! Mind you I don’t do much at work, but I am a nervous sweater, and an ugly smelly sweat person at that.. anyways. The clothes detox had helped.

  25. Holli
    March 22, 2019 / 1:53 pm

    I’ve used Lume for a few days now and it works for the funk but I still get sweaty pits. Does Lume keep you funk free and dry too?

    • March 22, 2019 / 1:54 pm

      Lume and any natural deodorants will help with odor but won’t stop sweat. You will need an antiperspirant for that.

      • Holli
        March 22, 2019 / 2:42 pm

        Any recommendations?

        • March 22, 2019 / 2:46 pm

          You won’t find a “natural” deodorant that prevents wetness. To do that, you need to plug the sweat glands, which is usually done with aluminum. One of the best antiperspirants I’ve ever tried is Certain Dri, the classic roll-on, applied at night. No smell, and you can use alone or along with Lume in the morning.

          • Holli
            March 22, 2019 / 2:59 pm

            Thanks!

          • Melanie
            March 23, 2019 / 1:45 pm

            I love Certain Dri. I sweat like a man, (or worse) and I have found this is the only one I can use. I use the solid extra strength. The roll on for before bed I also use but not often. It sometimes stings and or causes my pits to itch even though I have not shaved since early morning. I do have sensitive skin. I have considered the surgery to cut the sweat glands but it is too expensive.

    • Taylor
      April 4, 2019 / 3:12 pm

      I’m curious… If you are going to use an antiperspirant with aluminum in it… why even use a natural deodorant?

      • April 4, 2019 / 3:47 pm

        I was tempted to delete this but I believe this is an honest question. And the answer is every person does what they want to do. A lot of people choose products like Lume not because it is natural but they wish for it to be more effective than what they purchased at the drugstore. I’ve learned over these years of blogging that people’s reasons for what they do and want are vast and we can’t make assumptions as to why as we don’t know them, their lives, and their specific needs. So I don’t ask, I just provide advice. 🙂

  26. Sheree L
    March 15, 2019 / 9:48 pm

    I started using Lume in January of this year, and I have to say that I love it! It’s the only product I’ve tried that keeps me completely odor free (pits and other bits!) I’ve only tried the unscented which does smell disgusting when first putting it on, but after a minute, there is no smell (for me, anyway). I think I might try the lavender/clary sage one next time to compare. Also, I can go at least 48 hours (with a workout in there) and still be odor free. I hope they never stop making Lume!!

    • March 20, 2019 / 4:09 pm

      I’m so glad it works for you too!

  27. Jeanna
    March 8, 2019 / 5:57 pm

    After reading this article (love your writing voice, by the way!), I woke up the next morning with the weirdest thought. I promise, this isn’t normal for me. I had a flashback to watching one of those mystery illness reality shows where the woman had consistent BO but couldn’t get anything to help it. She tried everything to help, including the ultra drastic measure of surgically removing the sweat glands in her arm pits. Nothing helped. Turned out it was her liver; it didn’t function like it should. Anyway, I haven’t been able to get this thought out of my head. I knew I had to pass this on to you because if nothing topical works for you, maybe it’s something internal. Thanks for the honest review of these products. I’m delighted to have found your blog.

    • March 8, 2019 / 6:13 pm

      Oh snap! Thank you for this. It did go away with Lume. I ran out of my container, tried the unscented again and I smelled weird so I am back to Degree until I get another container of Lume. But a good reminder not just for me but all who may be reading this article!

  28. Sachi
    March 6, 2019 / 8:49 am

    I loved Native, but I found that another issue with natural deodorants was…. staining! With colored synthetic blouses, I found that some deodorants left a dark stain, maybe from the essential oils, and some deodorants like Schmidt’s left a pale yellow stain on white shirts immediately that carried as far as my sweat would carry them. Did anyone else have this problem? So frustrating!

    • March 7, 2019 / 6:35 pm

      The last two I have tried have ruined my bras. I cannot get the stains out!

    • Lindsay Fea
      March 10, 2019 / 6:04 pm

      Yes!! All of my t shirts are staining with dark stains. I think it’s the oils.

    • Diane Yaghoobian
      March 28, 2019 / 5:57 pm

      I should have figured natural deodorants containing “activated charcoal” would leave grey debris, not just stains, but I thought surely they would be clever enough to solve that problem. NOT.
      However, I think Lume should come with a big red warning sign ALWAYS STORE UPRIGHT! I tossed this into a drawer with other deodorant trials and when I took it out next day it was a slimy mess all over the lid and top, I had no option but to put it on by hand. It would have been less messy just to put in a jar; the top is useless.

      • Andrea
        July 16, 2019 / 6:27 pm

        I dropped my Lume Container and it cracked into a dozen pieces. I’ll always buy the tube from now on. It’s just a big fat mess! But where I get okay coverage for my pits, I get miracle coverage for my stanky feet. My feet stank is legendary. All my shoes are so permeated that they permanently smell that way. Baking soda, tea bags, coffee beans- nothing gets the smell out of my shoes. My stank is so bad that I can be sitting with my shoes on and I offend myself. I put Lume on my feet once or twice a week maybe. I bought a new pair of shoes. After a month my new shoes smell like… shoe leather. And my feet smell like nothing at all. My pits are not so miraculous. And it’s not “stuck in my clothes” because this is a brand new blouse and I already use Persil. It’s not nearly as bad as using no deodorant, and I don’t believe I smell offensive, but I smell… something.

        I loved Crystal and used it successfully for 15 years but now I break out in a rash when I wear it. ‍♀️ With Crystal there was NO ODOR WHATSOEVER. I will continue to buy Lume for the feet miracle, but I don’t know about my pits. I have tried several other natural deodorants but I’m allergic to baking soda and the ones without it were just goopy and left me with a mild odor.

    • Natalie
      May 1, 2019 / 8:05 pm

      Check out Lume, it’s water-based. Not wax/oil like other deodorants, which is what stains clothes. Lume washes right out.

      • Lynnette K
        May 29, 2019 / 10:27 pm

        Lume worked for me too for a few weeks but then I started smelling horrible. Bad bo and a weird mildew smell that’s making all my shirts stink. My husband noticed it and was like, babe, you have to switch deodorants!

        • Cidney
          June 5, 2019 / 12:14 pm

          I’m so glad I’m not the only one! I’ve been using lume for almost 2 months. At first, it was great. Then I had to start applying twice a day. Then it stopped working at all. I’m back to using secret right now, but I really want to find a deodorant that is aluminum free.

          • Lynnette K
            June 15, 2019 / 11:06 am

            Dove has an aluminum free one.

        • Betty Vondran
          June 15, 2019 / 10:50 am

          Oh my goodness so I’m not weird. (I posted a review on the Lume site but since they only put up the 5 star ones mine isn’t there) What I said was that I had tried pretty much every natural deodorant out there and within 2 hours (sitting motionless at my desk) I couldn’t stand myself. Tried Lume on the advice of happy family members; the scented variety smells like Preparation H so I switched to unscented. Sort of worked for a few weeks; although 72 hours? haha…barely 24. I’m now into the company for about $50 (those great BOGO offers) and I have at least $300 of brand new bras and shirts I’m going to have to throw away. I have tried presoaking in oxiclean, double washing, and the moment I put on a ‘clean’ shirt or bra, I smell like a lumberjack who hasn’t seen a shower in a month. I cannot get the reek out of my clothing. I have a sedentary job; I don’t run marathons. And I’ve needed to return home and reshower and change clothes 4 hours after the first shower, because I smelled so bad. I’m disappointed, and pretty angry about the cost of the clothing, and I’m going back to commercial products so I don’t offend every living creature within a city block, starting with myself.

          • Lynnette
            June 15, 2019 / 11:05 am

            Haha! I feel you there. Lume kept replying to people and saying they needed to make sure they cleaned their clothes well to get the previous smell out so they could see the difference with Lume but Lume was the problem definitely because my shirts were brand new. I used persil in a spray bottle and that worked. Spray it on the underarm and wash. Now that I switched to Dove I don’t notice my underarms during the day at all. I’ve been using natural for about 4 years and I’m just so happy to go back to something regular and cheaper. Check out Dove, they have an aluminum free one. My clothes are fine now that I’m not using Lume, even the ones I didn’t wash with Persil. You can also try Nature’s miracle to get the smell out. Good luck!

          • Amykate
            August 2, 2019 / 10:34 am

            Same here! Tried Lume and thought maybe I was weird because it seems to work for everyone but me. I treated all my clothes and used it for about a month, but kept noticing I SMELL. And not in a good way. This happened even when wearing brand new shirts and dresses. I tried reapplying Lume, using a little more, showering, scrubbing– nothing works. It’s too expensive for me to feel like giving up easily, and I don’t want to go back to commercial products, but I am very frustrated. The odor is distractingly bad–I offend myself and worry all the time about whether other people are grossed out too. I have a sedentary job, am healthy and don’t usually stink, but Lume seems to bring out the funk for me. I also have an armpit rash now and they seem to be darkening, which hasn’t happened to me before, even when using Schmidt’s.

    • Courtney
      July 16, 2019 / 9:33 pm

      After using Native, the armpits of my shirts no lie smell like baby formula that a baby has spit up…that’s the only thing I can think of to compare it to. I’m not sure if it’s the baking soda in Native or another ingredient but I NEVER had the issue until using it. Now…I have to treat my shirts with Nature’s Miracle and wash them multiple times. Am I the only person who this has happened to!?

  29. Amy
    February 21, 2019 / 9:29 pm

    This has been a journey for me as well. I love that my white shirts stay white now, but I must have a dozen abandoned deodorants in the box under the sink. I do think everyone is different. Lume worked for me for a week or so, but when it stopped working I smelled worse than I have ever smelled in my life. I currently use two different ones that both work GREAT. I switch them up during the week depending on my mood and maybe that is why they are both still working. Rose Natural Deodorant with Magnesium is my favorite, though it smelled much too much like rose for me at the beginning (the scent faded after a month or so). This one seems to keep my pits completely dry! Perhaps the magnesium acts like aluminium? Regardless, it works. I do find that I have to wipe some off with a tissue sometimes. I switch it up with Public Goods unscented. This one goes on completely clean and clear, keeps me smell-free all day without re-application and seems to come off in the shower with just soap. If you don’t yet know Public Goods, I like a lot of their products. Good luck finding the one that works for you!

    • KAREN MORGAN
      February 26, 2019 / 10:57 am

      Which Rose deodorant do you use?

  30. Rachel
    February 11, 2019 / 11:12 pm

    I feel your trials! I’ve gone through a ridiculous number, natural and traditional, trying to find one that both a) doesn’t give me a giant rash and b) actually does something deodorant-like. The few that I found that fit those criteria smelled terrible on me. Life would be so much easier if all bodies worked the same.

  31. Michelle
    February 1, 2019 / 10:22 pm

    I haven’t tried natural deodorants in a while…I’m going to have to try them again now that I have this tip from a commenter on another blog–after showering, I swipe my pits with alcohol, because apparently, there are bacteria that are unaffected by soap and water. These are why sometimes your deodorant stick smells bad after you’ve been using it for a while (if you’ve ever had that happen), because the bacteria left after you showered have been transferred to your deodorant. This trick has been making my regular deodorant more effective, so I am hopeful it would have the same impact on the natural ones.

    • February 3, 2019 / 2:37 pm

      Yes! This really does help! Glycolic acid also works, a lot of people use Stridex with the red cap. After using my Pixi Glow Tonic on my face, I wipe my pits with the cloth for this very reason. Thank you for sharing this!

  32. Kathryn
    January 22, 2019 / 8:55 pm

    I really wanted to say, thanks and me too!! I thought this was just me. I was having luck for a while having switched to using an ‘acid’ in my pits. But I still need to put something on after I ‘acid’. I think the issue with anything with baking soda is that it is very basic (ph) and skin wants to be more acidic. https://www.racked.com/2018/2/20/17021612/natural-deodorant-acid
    I thought this explained the baking soda thing pretty well: https://www.lisaliseblog.com/2012/10/why-your-diy-baking-soda-deodorant-is.html

    • January 26, 2019 / 6:27 pm

      Great resource, thank you so much for sharing this!

    • Lisa Blythe
      January 31, 2019 / 12:01 pm

      I love this post so much. When I was a teenager I had horrible BO and used Mitchum like it was my job. Fortunately, my hormones have calmed down since then! It is awesome that your husband finishes up what stops working for you.

    • Katie
      February 1, 2019 / 10:46 am

      Yes! I used Stridex salisylic acid (I know I’m not spelling that correctly) as deodorant for about 9 months. It really works for everyday BO, but I noticed that when I was sweating due to stress or anxiety, it didn’t help the smell for that. So interesting! I bought the Stridex wipes in the red box. I still use them at night sometimes (I have a bunch left and I figure it can’t hurt), but I’ve added in my grocery store’s brand of natural deodorant during the day. It has a scent, which I feel helps to cover up my BO when I have stress sweat. Nothing has worked perfectly though.

  33. Paula
    January 22, 2019 / 2:38 pm

    I tried the natural deodorants too, and they just didn’t work for me either. They start off good, but then after about 3 weeks they stop. I too went back to regular deodorant, sigh….. but your descriptions of how you smelled are hilarious!! Cat pee, old dryer sheets and Froot Loops, and my favorite…..smelling like a funeral. LOL!!!! Love, love you and your blogs! 🙂

  34. Neva
    January 20, 2019 / 6:08 pm

    Try Liken Plant Deodorant by Earth Sciences. I use the unscented version, stick form. No irritation and it works all day. I do have to reapply it every morning.
    Ingredients (INCI): Propylene Glycol, Aqua, Stearic Acid, Cyclomethicone, Talc, Silica, Sodium Hydroxide, Usnea carbata (Lichen) Extract, Calendula officinalis Flower Extract, Carthamus tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Arnica montana Flower Extract, Coriandrum sativum (Coriander) Extract, Hydrastis canadensis (Goldenseal) Extract, Salvia officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Chamomilla recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Zingiber officinale (Ginger) Root Extract.

    • January 26, 2019 / 6:31 pm

      Thanks for this suggestion, if Lume stops working I’ll check it out!

      • Sarah kisielewski
        March 8, 2019 / 2:18 pm

        Its now early March, are you still using Lume and liking it? I really want to try it and wanted to find someone with months using it and liking it.

        • March 8, 2019 / 6:26 pm

          I need to write an update! I finished my container of Lume, never stopped loving it, never started smelling weird. I went to use the unscented one after to get my money’s worth and I just did NOT like it. I haven’t bought another container of Lume yet but will this weekend. I’m back to a container of Degree I still had from beforehand but it’s not as effective as Lume.

          • ally
            March 15, 2019 / 11:36 am

            Ive recently tried Dove 0% and week 2 and still
            going strong! Im a nurse and it gets me thru my long shifts. Doesnt leave musty odors on my shirts and so far no rash! and i had no irritation on freshly shaved pits!

          • ally
            March 15, 2019 / 11:38 am

            Ive recently tried Dove 0% and week 2 and still
            going strong! Im a nurse and it gets me thru my long shifts. Doesnt leave musty odors on my shirts and so far no rash! and i had no irritation on freshly shaved pits! I also use an AHA body wash for my pits that I feel helps really clean and remove bacteria- but Im gonna try the toner trick as well! thank you for the great post!

          • March 20, 2019 / 4:41 pm

            Thank you for this, Ally!

  35. Tania
    January 19, 2019 / 6:08 pm

    That’s too bad about your Native reaction. Personally, I love this brand. It smells wonderful and I have never had an issue with it not working. It’s the only natural deodorant that’s work well is expensive but not outrageous. I’ve been using them for well over a year. I never had a reaction. I’m sorry you did.

  36. ros
    January 18, 2019 / 8:50 am

    Normal deodorants weren’t working for me – my 2 old favorites gave me a funky rash (cuuuute), and then my back-up hid the BO but gave me a weird kind of musty smell and stained my clothes.

    I tried Kopari, and, 5 months later, I like it. The only thing is that I absolutely need to apply it every day. With standard deodorants, if I showered every 2 days, it would hold up against the smell… this one does not. But I don’t smell like the back of a musty cupboard OR like BO and my skin isn’t rashy, so… win?

    (I<d get my husband to try it, but he never gets BO smell, so… not a reference. I'm so jealous.)

  37. Melis
    January 18, 2019 / 5:15 am

    Love this topic. I converted to natural deodorants about 15 years ago when there were many fewer options. After initial trial and error period, I found Kiss My Face Liquid Rock worked wonderfully well for me, so that’s what I’ve been using ever since… until late this summer when I could no longer find it in stores — and boy did I search, even in multiple states! (Turns out Kiss My Face has been acquired and it’s unclear if their products will ever return to store shelves.)

    Since I don’t want to stink, I tried several of the new natural brands you also tried (all uneffective for me) before getting suckered in by Lume’s facebook ad this September. I was skeptical, but I ordered the lavender sage, did the prep-work with my all of my shirts, and to my delight it worked a treat, even during a high-stress, 2-week business trip in a very hot and humid climate. I was thrilled. So when I ran out of my initial stick, I ordered the bundle of two sticks — lavender sage and unscented. A few days into using the lavender sage, I started to notice that my underarms were itchy and a little irritated and that Lume was no longer as effective as it had been earlier. Wondering if maybe the scent was the issue, though it hadn’t been before, I tried the unscented version. Not only did it not help, but by the end of the day my underarms were red and raw with a painful, itchy rash that took several days of topical cortisone to clear up. I was baffled. How could I suddenly react so differently to a product that had been effective and non-irritating to me for two whole months prior? Did I possibly receive a different formula previously?

    I took a break from Lume over the holidays, but not having found a suitable replacement and wondering if it was just a fluke, I gave Lume another try this week. The first day I felt a little itchy, but by the end of the 3rd day I had developed the painful rash again! It’s so disappointing, since I didn’t have any of these issues with my first stick, and I found the product really effective for those first two months. As with all products, it may just be that I’m sensitive to a particular ingredient, or maybe the reformulated Lume (changed from a 48-hour to 72-hour odor control) just doesn’t agree with me. Either way, I’d love an update from you in a few months to see if it continues to be effective and non-irritating for you (or you other readers)!

    • March 3, 2019 / 12:27 pm

      Hi Melis! I came across your post and wanted to reach out and let you know, you may have recevied a stick with a new essential oil source for us. Rash rates are really low with Lume and for those who had a reaction to it, the good news is we switched back to our original sage source. If you reach out to support@lumedeodorant.com, we will happily send you a new stick to try and see how it goes. I have a hunch you will do great. We want you to love Lume as much as you did before.

    • Margaret Feltham
      August 27, 2019 / 4:42 pm

      I used Kiss My Face liquid rock Peaceful Patchouli for years and it worked great. I have not been able to find a new natural deodorant that I like. I was considering trying Lume but they don’t have a Patchouli version and the comments here have not been positive overall. If you hear that KMF products are coming out by a new company, I would like to know that.

  38. ClaraT
    January 17, 2019 / 4:23 pm

    I very, very much appreciate that you are not claiming that “natural” is healthier and also that you highlight your issues with traditional products. I, too, hate that sweat+conventional deodorant smell (especially on my synthetic workout clothes–they smell worse than my non-deodorized BO!)
    Holy grail product would: stop me from stinking, not stain my clothes, and not have a masking fragrance. Impossible? (sigh) probably. Thanks for your honest review.

  39. MW
    January 17, 2019 / 3:34 pm

    I’ve been using the unscented Arm & Hammer Essentials Natural Deodorant. It’s not as powerful as the chemical-filled stuff, but I find that it works pretty well. Another plus is that it’s relatively inexpensive (I got two sticks for less than $9 from Amazon). Give it a try!

    • Sarah Wall
      April 24, 2019 / 5:55 am

      This is what I am currently using, but I definitely get the red skin from the baking soda, and I don’t feel it’s effective for the whole day (even with reapplication). So I’d like to switch.

  40. Sara
    January 17, 2019 / 3:02 pm

    Another suggestion to try is Crystal. It’s mineral salts, inhibiting bacterial growth which leads to BO. It comes in three formulations – solid (which you have to wet down with water before using), spray, and roll-on. I’ve been using it for close to a decade after I got tired of a regular deodorant/antiperspirant combo. I hated that the traditional stick was ruining the armpits of my clothing even after laundering, and that it started to gunk up so that I couldn’t shave.

    Crystal has an original unscented which is what I use so that I can also use perfume oil, and several others like lavender, etc. I use the roll-on because I find it the most convenient. I’ve used the solid, but it gets tiring having to wet it down before each use, and it has a tendency to fall out of the container and shatter. Since it’s deodorant only, it won’t prevent sweating, but it does prevent BO. Also, I don’t expect to be able to work out and still smell fresh – but I put it on after showing every day and during my normal work, errands, Netflix day and I don’t smell like anything.

    Or, it may just be that your body won’t work with natural deodorants. I tend to think natural formulations work better with people who are on the lighter end of the sweating/BO bacteria spectrum.

    • Jennifer
      January 31, 2019 / 1:12 pm

      I was going to mention the same brand! I have been using the solid rock forever and then incorporated the liquid roll-on, I use the liquid to wet my armpits, then apply the solid over that and it has worked really well for me. I use the lavender scented roll-on 🙂

    • Vanessa P
      June 16, 2019 / 11:37 pm

      I tried it, and it worked, but I got a horrible, painful rash almost immediately (it looked almost psoriatic; in truth, I do have eczema). I’ve tried several brands, and I found that, for me, Native works beautifully. I’m lucky enough to tolerate the baking soda or non-baking soda scents (I like tho change up the scents because I’m just wacky like that). I’ve scene the Lume commercials (hilarious!!), but I’m not sure I want to mess with something (Native) that has been working for me for over 2 years!! FYI, I am a heavy sweater, was using the clinical strength stuff (it worked but every brand caused a rash–not as bad as the Crystal deodorant, but still uncomfortable) and wanted something without the aluminum. In addition, I suffer from lupus and am going through menopause (sorry if that’s TMI), both of which cause night sweats (double whammy many nights!!). I may wake up drenched and shivering, but I still smell fresh as the proverbial daisy!!

  41. Kelley
    January 17, 2019 / 2:52 pm

    I recommend you check out Megababe Rosy Pits. I was leery of a rose scent, but it’s lovely and not overpowering at all (and you don’t smell like a grandma). I’ve also used the bust dust (works great, but leaves your bra kind of gross) and the thigh rescue (love)!

  42. Lindsay
    January 17, 2019 / 2:20 pm

    I have also been fighting a battle with switching over to natural deodorant. I made the switch about 4 or 5 years ago because I got tired of the residue that antiperspirant left on my underarms (and the gross clogging of my razor even after I scrubbed my pits raw beforehand!) and they didn’t leave me smelling fresh anyway. I tried Kiss My Face first (that went in the trash immediately, it was useless), then tried a homemade Milk of Magnesia concoction. That worked alright when combined with a roll-on perfume oil that I had. I eventually purchased Primal Pit Paste in the creamsicle scent but it didn’t work well for me. Piperwai seemed promising, but eventually I started to notice that I smelled like asphalt/tar. It was weird. I used Schmidt’s Bergamot and Lime for awhile, which worked great for me but the smell was too strong. I then got the Schmidt’s Magnesium Charcoal which worked okay but the smell got annoying after awhile. I still have it and use it occasionally but I don’t like to use it daily. I’m currently using the Schmidt’s sensitive version in Jasmine Tea and love the smell but it leaves a residue on my pits that the others didn’t, which seems to make me smell funkier. I’m tired of having to scrub my pits multiple times during my shower! I might try their Rose and Vanilla because the standard formula seemed to work well for me (luckily I’m not sensitive to baking soda). I refuse to use anything that smells like lavender. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve never been a fan of the smell. Reading your journey makes me feel less alone. I wish I were one of those people who could use anything (or nothing!) because they barely sweat, but I am a sweaty, smelly chick no matter what I do! I’ve gotten rid of all my polyester/synthetic tops and dresses, and I’m going to purchase Bac Out to pretreat the pits of the rest of my tops, per another reader’s suggestion. Since switching to natural deodorant, my tops don’t have near the same buildup that they did when I used traditional antiperspirant but I figure the Bac Out can’t hurt!

  43. Marie
    January 17, 2019 / 11:17 am

    Have you tried Megababe? (megababebeauty.com ) I was hoping to hear some reviews on that one too. They also carry a product for under boob sweat and thigh chafe. It sounds great – but I’m curious to hear about others who have tried it. I saw it at Ulta over the weekend.

  44. Diane
    January 17, 2019 / 11:05 am

    Have you thought about making your own? I did a similar search for natural options, and tried CertainDri and some other clinical formulas. Nothing really did the trick.

    However, I’ve been really happy with a recipe I found online. It’s coconut oil, baking soda and cornstarch. Equal parts of each. I mix it up in a bowl. You can microwave the oil to soften it up, if it’s cold. If you’d like it to smell different, you can add essential oils, and I sometimes add tea tree oil, which has antibacterial properties. I store mine in an old face cream jar. (And I believe that the baking soda is optional, you could use more cornstarch, or arrowroot powder)

    So far, it’s the best I’ve tried – lasts through long sweaty workouts, overnight camping trips and stinky summers in NYC. Give it a try!

    Diane

    • Ang
      August 9, 2019 / 12:00 am

      I’ve made this recipe and it worked great and I loved it at first but the baking soda gives me a rash so I made it with more arrowroot and less baking soda and then it didn’t work to keep the odor away.

  45. Erin
    January 17, 2019 / 10:50 am

    Love this detailed review! I have issues with most natural deos containing baking soda, but I had been using Schmidt’s magnesium charcoal for more than a month with great effect and no issues, until one day I broke out in a painful red rash. I switched to a magnesium roll-on I found on Amazon and it seems to work pretty well, but I definitely smelled ripe in the morning even without a workout. I just started using Lume (unscented) last week and I’m hopeful… so far it seems to last through the day, though I don’t think I can taper yet. I also have been taking their advice to use enzyme pre-treatment on shirt pits before laundering (I’m using biokleen bac-out), so we’ll see if that makes a difference. Another product that seems similar to Lume is Nuud – it’s based in the NL but they do free shipping worldwide. I tried it last year and it just didn’t last a full day consistently for me. I gave a tube to my mom and it works great for her – she only applies every few days and loves it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

powered by chloédigital