The Kit NYC Review: Colorful, Sustainable, Size-Inclusive, but a Miss

The Kit NYC review by Wardrobe Oxygen: thoughts on this sustainable size-inclusive brand by Daniel Vosovic

In the past two years, it seems as though every time I have opened Instagram I have seen an ad for The Kit NYC, a sustainable and size-inclusive fashion brand known for its bold and colorful printed clothing. I liked the company's ethics, liked that they went up to 3XL, and loved seeing such aspects in a riot of color and unique patterns. I couldn't help but place an order in hopes of loving it and writing a raving The Kit NYC review.

The thing is, the clothing I have received from The Kit NYC haven't really warranted a rave. Because I love the concept of The Kit so much, I haven't made one, but three purchases of clothing from the brand (and one of the face masks) over the span of a year hoping the previous one was a fluke and I could eventually write a positive The Kit NYC review.

After ordering two shipments of clothing and receiving a dress from The Kit as a gift, after experiencing four of the brand's fabrics and six different styles from the collection, I feel I can comfortably write this review.

However, this The Kit NYC review isn't cut and dry a rave or a rant. Consider it a PSA to those who are over a size 10, and a plea to Daniel Vosovic, the designer behind The Kit, to take things a bit further so this colorful, size-inclusive, and sustainable fashion brand can be as awesome as it appears on Instagram.

You may also like: Dressed in Joy Athleisure Review

What is The Kit NYC by Daniel Vosovic?

The Kit NYC (also known as The Kit.) is a fashion brand by Daniel Vosovic. Vosovic created The Kit in 2017 as an alternative to fast fashion. With every garment under $200 and most under $100, The Kit is a sustainable fashion brand set up thanks to partnering with Resonance that doesn’t require inventory, uses natural fibers, reduces waste, and offers an easy-to-use retail website and excellent customer service and order processing.

With so many sustainable brands offering only sizes up to size 10 or collections in neutral colors, The Kit NYC stands out by offering several of its styles up to size 3XL and every piece in richly colored digital prints that are both joyful and sophisticated.

Who is Daniel Vosovic?

You may recognize Daniel Vosovic’s name as he was the runner-up on Season 2 of ‘Project Runway' and the winner of a season of ‘Project Runway All-Stars'. A skilled fashion designer, Vosovic received a BFA in Fashion Design: Women’s Wear from both FIT and Polimoda. He also received additional formal and on-the-job training at Gorland/Ittiere in London and through fashion seminars by Li Edelkoort in Florence, Milan, and Paris.

In 2012, Vosovic was accepted into the class of ten designers for the two-year CFDA Fashion Incubator program. Daniel Vosovic has had an eponymous fashion line since 2009, and in 2017 launched The Kit NYC.

What is Resonance?

Above I mentioned that Vosovic partnered with Resonance to offer The Kit. Resonance is a technology company that builds sustainable fashion businesses (brands, manufacturers, and retailers) using its proprietary cloud-based platform. Resonance is a cool concept that represents brands like Pyer Moss and Tucker NYC.

Resonance will do most everything to help a brand exist – it helps develop new products or get currently existing products on their platform, source the materials and make the product, ship the product, deal with returns and customer service. Resonance will also create a shopping website and help with basic finance needs like bookkeeping, accounts payable, and accounts receivable.

Resonance is genius, and I think a way for a lot of designers with amazing ideas but no staff or warehouse or much capital to create a successful brand and quick delivery of their fashion to the masses.

My First Purchase from The Kit NYC Review: Fool Me Once

January 2020, after seeing The Kit NYC over and over show up on my Instagram feed and falling in love with the bold prints and modern yet simple silhouettes, I placed an order.

I chose the Harper Pants in Pink Haze and the matching bomber cardigan (seen in the photos below but no longer available online). As a size 14 in most popular brands and scoping out the size chart, I purchased both items size XL.

Screen Shot 2021 01 04 at 6.37.15 PM
The Harper Pants and Bomber Cardigan in Pink Haze, as seen on The Kit's website

The garments from The Kit NYC arrived quickly considering each piece is made only when an order is placed. I was so excited, I opened the bag and before even unfolding the clothes I was disappointed.

The pants were a viscose/rayon blend (textured like a crepe) while the bomber was a heavyweight knit (not sure the fabric makeup). Made of different fabrics, they took the inks from the digital prints differently, and the bomber jacket not only looked faded compared to the pants, it didn’t even look like the same color.

Both pieces had a magenta and purple print but were sewn with a white thread, extremely visible around the pockets and along the hem.

The back pocket on the elastic-waist pants was sewn on an angle and the print was a different angle from the pants. I couldn't tell if this was a purposeful design element or a manufacturing mistake. The front pockets of the pants were unusually low; I couldn’t even get my hands in them with my elbows straightened.

Screen Shot 2021 01 04 at 6.38.26 PM
The Kit website doesn't share what size the model is wearing, but does share her measurements of being 5'11”, with a 34″ bust, 25″ waist, and 35″ hips. These garments fit her drastically different from how they fit me.

The bomber cardigan fabric was stiff and the seams in the unlined jacket scratched me when I slipped it on over a tank. The sizing was so weird; the sleeves were crazy long, the body also weirdly long hitting low on the hips. The print on one arm went in a different direction from the rest of the jacket.

I wasn’t expecting haute couture, but with the price point, I expected the quality to be equal to department store brands like Vince Camuto, I.N.C., or Halogen. These reminded me of pieces I'd make back in high school with a Butterick pattern and my little Singer sewing machine, not mass-produced fashion from a well-known fashion designer.

The only reason I felt the price of these items from The Kit NYC was justified was because of the sustainable materials and methods for manufacturing. If those weren't in place, I'd equal the quality of these items to something found at a discount mart or crafted in a high school Home Economics class.

I was glad that The Kit NYC had easy returns because that stuff was sent back the same day. My money was returned quickly too. Unfortunately, I have no photos of these pieces on me.

My Second Purchase from The Kit NYC Review: Fool Me Twice

As the year progressed, I kept seeing more ads for The Kit NYC on social media. I also saw some influencers I knew wearing and recommending the pieces. I saw the site kept looking better, the selection increasing, and thought maybe The Kit NYC got their sh*t together, maybe got a bit of funding and put it into manufacturing as well as the website and product photos.

I kept visiting the site seeing what The Kit had new that I’d like in my closet and was also available in the brand's full size range. I really liked the Alex Jumpsuit, I also thought the Cobie Shirtdress looked like a piece that I could wear when the world opened for nice events and at home with sandals or sneakers. Unfortunately, no matter how often I revisited The Kit's website, those pieces never were made available above a size 14.

the kit kyle dress
The Kyle Dress from The Kit

So, when my mom asked what I wanted for Christmas, I said the Kyle Dress in Lush Terrace, a green print. As one of the pieces available in extended sizing, it looked cute on the model.  The model wore it loose and swingy and breezy; she wore it belted and it gave a completely different effect.

I envisioned The Kit Kyle Dress with a Universal Standard Foundation turtleneck, opaque tights, and boots for winter. Come spring, I’d style it with a denim jacket and ankle boots. And summer, it would shine being worn with metallic Birkenstocks and hoops or maybe my gold metal belt and gold metallic sandals for a dressier occasion.

the kit nyc review
Is this a dress from a budget-friendly fashion brand by a respected designer, or a beach coverup bought at Sunsations in Ocean City?

I received the dress as a Christmas gift and was again disappointed. Just like the Harper pants I ordered a year prior, the Kyle Dress looked more like a Home Ec project than a garment from a well-respected designer’s department-store level fashion brand.

the kit nyc kyle dress review
What is UP with these super low pockets?

It looked like a cheap swim coverup you’d buy at a boardwalk shop along with a refrigerator magnet and a souvenir silkscreened t-shirt.  I was surprised by how short it was on me; there would be no way to belt it like it was seen on the model. It was so boxy, like a scrubs shirt elongated to a tunic. And what was up with the incredibly low pockets?

the kit nyc dress review
I put my hand in the pocket to show how strangely low on the dress they are.

I chatted with two friends who own this dress. Both friends wear smaller than a size US 8. Both said they sized up (one went up two sizes, one went up one) to achieve how the dress looked on The Kit NYC website.

the kit. nyc fabric
A closeup of the print on this dress and a seam showing how no effort. is made to match up prints.

Considering I am a size 14 and already in a size XL, the concept of sizing up to get the proper look of a dress is impossible for plus size women, which are 67% of the US population.

My Third Purchase for a thorough The Kit NYC Review: Call it Research

the kit nyc fabric
The fabrics and prints from this The Kit NYC order: just as vivid in person

Once I knew I was going to write this The Kit NYC review, I placed a third purchase. Consider it research; I placed an order of a variety of items so I could try a mix of fabrics and silhouettes before I shared my honest thoughts. I ordered:

  • The Issa Jumpsuit in Orange Complication: I know I am not the only woman who loves the ease and powerful feeling of rocking a jumpsuit. The Kit NYC offers two different jumpsuits; the Issa Jumpsuit is available up to 3XL while the Alex Jumpsuit is only available up to 14.
  • The Turtleneck in Pink Pop Floral: The Kit NYC's Turtleneck is by far the most popular item on Instagram. I have two friends and several influencer buddies who own it in a variety of prints. I chose Pink Pop Floral because I own a The Kit NYC face mask in the same print.
  • The Midi Tee Dress in Moonstone: This was definitely for research as I don't need a dress like this in my wardrobe. However, I loved the look of it, liked that it came up to 3XL, and would have me experiencing another fabric offered from The Kit NYC.

The Kit NYC Issa Jumpsuit Review

Screen Shot 2021 01 25 at 6.20.13 PM
The Issa Jumpsuit in Orange Complication, as modeled on The Kit website

The Issa Jumpsuit from The Kit NYC is made from the same fabric as the Harper Pant and the Kyle Dress – a crepe fabric made from 55% viscose, 45% rayon. It is available up to 3XL; I ordered an XL.

the kit nyc issa jumpsuit orange
I didn't even plan to pose the same way as the model!

The print looks as bright and crisp as it appears on the website. While I ordered the print called “Orange Complication,” the Issa Jumpsuit comes in a lot of other prints. Also, while I chose an Issa Jumpsuit in the viscose/rayon combo, some Issa Jumpsuits come in 100% cotton.

the kit nyc jumpsuit review

With a 26.5″ inseam, I know this jumpsuit is supposed to be cropped, but on my 5'3″ self I was expecting it to be ankle length. I have loved jumpsuits of this style because a cropped leg can look ankle length on me (see me in this cropped ELOQUII jumpsuit), and because a cinched waist can let me blouse out a too-long torso.

the kit issa jumpsuit
the kit nyc review of the issa jumpsuit
Not a lot of allowance with a size XL to cinch at the waist

Again, I think if I wanted it to fit the way I envisioned, I think I'd have to size up and take it to the tailor. The jumpsuit is gaping at the bust; could be remedied with a minimizer bra and a safety pin, but likely would look more polished if larger.

the kit issa jumpsuit fabric
A closeup of the fabric of the Issa Jumpsuit

As you can see from some of these photos, there isn't a lot I need to cinch at the waist, which doesn't give me enough to blouse out the top and have the long torso look purposeful.

The Kit NYC Turtleneck Review

The Kit NYC Turtleneck is a soft knit made from 62% bamboo, 33% cotton, and 5% spandex. It is available up to 3XL, I went with XL. While I got the turtleneck in the print Pink Pop, it is available in a variety of other prints, most of which have matching face masks. The fabric is soft, the print looks exactly in person as it does online, the colors saturated.

Screen Shot 2021 01 25 at 6.21.14 PM
The Turtleneck in Pink Pop as modeled on The Kit NYC website

This is the only piece from The Kit NYC that I ordered and liked enough to keep. It's soft, but I find it runs a bit short considering I am 5'3″; I think it's because it's not cut for curves. This is a slim-fitting piece, closer to a bodysuit or base layer than a t-shirt.

the kit turtleneck

Again, I had friends who are smaller than I who bought this item; some went with their usual size and liked it fitted, some admitted they sized up to feel comfortable wearing it on its own and for daytime.

the kit nyc turtleneck review

I've also heard you need to baby this turtleneck to keep it looking great. Hand wash or wash on the delicate cycle in a lingerie bag, lay flat to dry. A dryer will fade it, hanging it to dry can have the hem dry uneven, and even the spin cycle can stretch it out. I plan to baby this so it remains looking fresh.

the kit turtleneck fabric
A closeup of the fabric from The Turtleneck by The Kit

I compare that to my Universal Standard Foundation turtlenecks which are 94% modal and 6% elastane. They are to be machine washed on cold and dried flat but I've put mine in the dryer and hung them to dry and they still look like new (and I don't need to size up to not have it fit like a bodysuit).

The Kit NYC Midi Tee Dress Review

The Kit NYC Midi Tee Dress is made of 95% cotton and 5% spandex resulting in a fabric that feels like a lightweight sweatshirt without a fleecy or loop interior. It too is available up to 3XL and I again went with a size XL. While I chose the Moonstone print, the Midi Tee Dress comes in several other prints.

Screen Shot 2021 01 25 at 6.22.42 PM
The Midi Tee dress in Moonstone print as modeled on The Kit NYC website

This dress is sexy. While it is essentially a sweatshirt dress, it's not so thin it shows every lump or bump, but still skims every single curve.

the kit nyc midi dress reveiw

If the world was open, I would consider keeping this dress in this size and having this tailored to shorten the hem and sleeves. I'd wear it out with tall black heeled boots in the winter and some trendy sneakers in the spring.

the kit midi dress review

I have a follower on Instagram who shared with me that she has this dress in a different print. She says she loves it but she also admits she exchanged it for two sizes larger and had her tailor shorten it and add darts at the bust to make it fit properly.

the kit nyc sweatshirt dress

The reason the Midi Tee Dress and the Turtleneck work so well is because they are the most basic of basic items that fit well. They're essentially tubes with sleeves that will morph into whatever shape your body may be.

the kit nyc fabric cotton knit
A closeup of the front and back of the fabric and stitching of the Midi Tee Dress

I don't think the design is revolutionary, but the prints are so good I can justify purchasing them just to have some fun and colorful variety in your wardrobe.

You Know What They Say…

I know, fool me twice, shame on me. Let's be real, if I'm fooled thrice I am a glutton for punishment. But the thing is, The Kit NYC is something we need in the fashion world. We need more fashion that is cool and colorful, while also being sustainable and size-inclusive. It seems these days we can only have one, especially if you are over a size 10.

The Kit NYC offers clothing that is modern, but also simple enough that it transcends trends. The prints are fresh, colorful, yet also sophisticated. With the most expensive piece at The Kit under $170 and most under $100, The Kit in theory, is redefining fast fashion by keeping it fast, but making it sustainable, fun, and simple enough that it will be staying in one’s closet far longer than a single season.

the kit. nyc review

The Kit NYC’s Quality

I know that fabric choice determines garment price. I don’t expect a reasonably-priced brand like The Kit to make their garments out of silk, but I do expect to have fabrics that can properly absorb the dyes from the digital prints that make The Kit NYC the brand that catches my eye and the eye of many more.

I understand the focus on sustainable fabrics; I can only think that bomber is no longer available because it received so many complaints for the fabric. I don't love the feel or drape of the viscose/rayon crepe fabric used in a lot of The Kit's fashion, but maybe it's because it is both sustainable and takes dye well that it is used?

I also expect construction that is at least equal to the fast fashion brands a reasonably priced sustainable fashion brand is hoping to replace. I seriously have seen better-crafted garments from Forever 21 than some of the pieces I've experienced from The Kit.

The Kit NYC’s Size Range and Fit

Maybe I am older than The Kit NYC's target demographic, but my body is the size that brands should be catering to if they wish to remain relevant. It's not about me, it's about the fact that at 5'3″ and size 14 (sometimes closer to 12, sometimes closer to 16) I am pretty darn close to the Average size/weight and the average height of an American woman.

the kit painters jacket
The Kit's Painter's Jacket and Cropped Alexa Jean, both which aren't available over a size XL/14

Not only that, at least 67% the female population of the United States wears plus-sized clothing (a size 14 or larger); as a woman who has been plus-sized and now sits on the cusp between straight and plus and writes about clothing in this size, I know this community has the money to spend on brands that acknowledge their existence and make at least a slight effort to cater to them.

the Kit NYC review: how it fits and the quality
Not even the Brea Robe or Harper Pant are available above a size XL/14.

Why doesn’t The Kit NYC have their entire collection in their full size range? Why is it only the super basic silhouettes that come up to 3XL? Considering The Kit NYC uses Resonance, the popular excuses by other brands for not having larger sizes doesn’t work. You don’t need to house extra inventory.

If The Kit can offer a dress in a different new print every week, and offer new silhouettes every few months, why can’t The Kit NYC also offer slightly better cut styles and maybe pieces size XL and larger not only available in every style, but created with a larger-sized fit model?

Congrats for… The Bare Minimum?

I am over congratulating fashion brands for doing the absolute minimum.

  • Yes, The Kit NYC has methods to reduce water usage and waste in comparison to other fashion brands, but the quality control and fit for those of us who wear larger sizes are lacking.
  • Yes, The Kit NYC has extended sizing, but it’s only available on select pieces, and those pieces are the ones with the most simplistic and generic silhouettes. On top of that, most of these styles require sizing up for better fit. With a 3XL only fitting up to a size 22, this “inclusive sizing” excludes a huge percentage of the population.
  • Yes, The Kit NYC offers amazing color and prints which is so lacking in the sustainable fashion realm, but with inconsistent color saturation and print matching a lot of pieces may be tossed at the end of a season defeating any waste-reduction practices.

In an interview for W Magazine, Vosovic was quoted as saying, “…because I don’t have to design far in advance, I can react to what people want or what’s happening in the world around me.” Daniel, the world is craving what The Kit NYC would be if you put in a little more effort and thought.

Why I Took So Long to do a The Kit NYC Review

wardrobe oxygen review the kit
Even my dog Oscar didn't want me to write anything negative about The Kit

I really didn't want to do a negative review. I find Daniel Vosovic to be incredibly talented. The prints from The Kit are gorgeous and unique. The collection a creative alternative to utilitarian basics but still allowing for a minimalist wardrobe. I love the sustainability aspect. The customer service for The Kit NYC is great from speedy shipping to swift returns to replying to mentions and comments on Instagram.

The Kit NYC is what I want in my life and in my wardrobe, and I know many other women feel the same way. I have been asked for over a year to do a The Kit NYC review because there is such interest in this company.

I feel there is SUCH POTENTIAL with this brand, I don't want to dissuade people from trying the brand. It's not all bad, but the way the larger sizes are handled and the inconsistent quality made me feel I had to do some sort of PSA.

Have you tried The Kit? I'd love to hear from you, especially if you are a size 14 or larger. What pieces worked for you? How did your garments hold up after laundering? What do you love, and what would you like to see from the brand?

58 Comments

  1. Gretchen Bell
    October 14, 2021 / 6:58 pm

    Thank you for your review. I too am always tempted by the Kit ads online, but I am curvy and a size 10 and now will not be purchasing anything based on your review.

  2. July 25, 2021 / 1:13 pm

    Thanks for the detailed reviews. Just came across your site. I do want to order – I’m a 10/12 but will proceed with caution.

    PS You look adorable in the jumpsuit and t-neck!

  3. Jen
    July 23, 2021 / 2:41 pm

    Damn, this is disappointing. I’ve been drooling over these clothes all week (late to the game I guess). But the real question is: where are those AMAZING pink pants from?

  4. Deb
    June 3, 2021 / 12:29 am

    I received my Kyle dress today. As a 49 year old
    Woman, I’ve so rarely felt comfortable and confident in my clothes. After the pandemic, even more so. I’ve never really know what works for my body (short 5 feet, big boobs, small torso and a belly). Apparently I’m petite but that’s just because I’m
    Short. Anyway, I’m desperately trying to find pieces, anything that I can wear out, now that events are happening etc. I never feel like I have the luxury to be picky about little off things, if something “sort of fits.” Yesterday I was just in tears trying to figure out what to wear for a meeting. So it was thrilling to get my dress, put it on and actually really like it. And so I do what I do and ordered 4 more. I “struggle.” But now I stumbled on your blog and I’m looking forward to digging in and maybe learning how to find clothes that truly work, and/or how to tailor etc. etc. it’s so silly… but it would be dreamy to get up and feel like I have nice things to put on. Babble babble. All of which to say, I really like the dress I got and even though the ole chafing shorts are still necessary, I dig The Kit so far… but I learned quite a bit from
    This review!

  5. Alex
    April 25, 2021 / 1:49 pm

    In terms of sustainability, some concerns with how The Kit spins their materials. At end of 2020, all products which were not pure cotton, were marked as “viscose” (in addition to the cotton or spandex etc mixed in)
    Now they are marked as “bamboo” instead of viscose.
    Yes, viscose can be made from bamboo.but:
    I think the environmentally concerned among us should read/learn about Viscose and how, though yes it is made from natural fibers, it actually has a high environmental impact because of the chemicals used, and the amount of water neccessary in the process. And how in many countries the manufacturing processes really put the workers at health risks making this material.
    Here’s a start. https://goodonyou.eco/material-guide-viscose-really-better-environment/
    .
    I equally want o love everything about The Kit, but this recent greenwashing technique, changing how they label their viscose bamboo rayon to just ‘bamboo’ leaves a really bad taste in my mouth.
    I have a credit with them for a returned Henley, but think I will need to only purchase one of their 100% cotton options sadly to avoid the Viscose. (thankfuflly at least some rad cotton button down shirts exist.)

    • Elizabeth King
      August 16, 2021 / 12:55 pm

      I was just coming here to say the exact same thing. With the lack of care in the construction of these garments, I can guarantee you that these are not made with sustainable fabrics. Unbranded viscose /rayon can’t be called sustainable as it is often made from old growth and rain forests. Also bamboo is not even identifiable after it is made into rayon (from a highly chemical process). Good Housekeeping just published a great article on this – it references sheets but it applies to apparel. https://www.goodhousekeeping.com/home/a35604410/bamboo-eucalyptus-fabric-false-labeling/

  6. ClaraT
    February 1, 2021 / 8:40 pm

    Here to chime in about the smaller sizes…I ordered the Graffiti tank dress in XS and S. Either would be OK in terms of tightness, but the proportions were just wrong. I think their fit models must be about 5’8”, so in addition to being a bit long, the ruching placement was not right on 5’4” me. I *love* the pattern and this is totally something I’d wear all summer long…if it fit. I like that this design is body con but has a higher neckline and is longer. If it was available in petite, I’d be all over it. Sadly, a miss for me.

    • February 2, 2021 / 9:35 am

      Thank you for this feedback!

  7. Sandy
    January 29, 2021 / 9:16 am

    I read this review after ordered 6 shirts last night….. I was frustrated while browsing, because none of the women on the site have breasts, so it was impossible to tell what the clothes would look like on me. When I went to his insta, I saw your picture and thought “oh, good, some body diversity! Except he chose a picture where her torso is covered by a cat….”

    I really hope the designer reads your post, and the comments. I would have purchased a lot more of the items if they had been modeled by more diverse bodies on the site. I’m 5’9″ and a size 12. A button down isn’t going to lie flat on my chest like on the models, but why doesn’t he want to show what they’ll look like on more than one type of body? If you can only design for hangers or thin, flat chested people, that doesn’t say much for a person’s skill.

    I was very excited to get some colorful clothing, but now I’m just glad to know returns are easy.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:34 am

      I hope you come back when you get your order and share your experience. And I hope some of it does work out for you! The Kit said on their IG in comments they’re working on extending size range. I don’t know if that will actually happen (I heard that for years from Everlane) and I hope if they do, they also extend their model range so we can see the clothes on a variety of bodies!

      • Ann
        August 8, 2021 / 1:02 am

        I love these styles so I was so excited to place an order. I ordered the Tracee pant in olive after eyeing them for months. I am usually successful with size 10 and rarely have fit issues with other brands at that size. These pants fit like a size 6 and I could barely button them. Even if I ordered them 3 sizes larger the crotch is so short that I would never be able to wear them. The proportions make no sense.
        Luckily I was able to return them. Unfortunately I saw that the other two items on my list were listed as non returnable. I am hoping it is because I haven’t received them yet. I do hope I will have more luck with the when they arrive.

  8. Heidi
    January 28, 2021 / 4:46 pm

    I love the prints, but I, too, don’t like crepe fabrics. Am I just too sensitive? They feel scratchy on me.

    I’ve been wondering if you’d be interested in doing a post about how fashion picks current colors–what’s the lead time, for example? I keep seeing how dull most colors are right now, and wondering if the lead times were too long for fall’s lines to be adjusted. Even spring doesn’t look too bright from what I’m seeing right now.

    • January 28, 2021 / 5:38 pm

      The trend right now isn’t bright, even Pantone’s colors of the year is a bright yellow, but as a contrast to gray (https://www.pantone.com/color-of-the-year-2021). The soft neutrals palette has been happening for a bit and has been selling extremely well during the pandemic. I think color lead time is dependant on the brand. All trend forecasters say that summer and fall will be brighter, but I wouldn’t be surprised if retailers hold off going all bright and bold until next year as this year is looking to still be spent primarily at home. I think right now retailers are trying to do what sells and since the soft neutrals have been doing well I’d expect them to not pivot because they can’t afford to be creative right now. Smaller retailers I think can pivot more quickly and I’d expect them to pick up colors as the state of the country/world changes.

  9. Sabine
    January 27, 2021 / 9:45 am

    Oh Alison!
    This right here is EXACTLY why I love your blog and Instagram so much. I can trust that you share your honest opinion and give detailed backup. Too many times, influencers feel they need to sing the praises of companies to get gifts and goodwill from them, doing a disservice to their followers.
    I especially loved this sentence:
    “Maybe I am older than The Kit NYC’s target demographic, but my body is the size that brands should be catering to if they wish to remain relevant. It’s not about me, it’s about the fact that at 5’3″ and size 14 (…) I am pretty darn close to the Average size/weight and the average height of an American woman.”
    and
    “(…) as a woman who has been plus-sized and now sits on the cusp between straight and plus and writes about clothing in this size, I know this community has the money to spend on brands that acknowledge their existence and make at least a slight effort to cater to them.”
    This last sentence especially! I am part of this community and I am willing and happy to spend money on brands that get me (Hi there Universal Standard!!!). Such a missed business opportunity for a talented designed.

    Thanks again, Alison!

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:51 am

      So glad you found it helpful!

  10. TC
    January 26, 2021 / 4:54 pm

    I found this article after someone on Reddit criticized it. It made me a new fan. This is the kind of content that influencers should be creating. It’s detailed, researched, informative, and unfiltered. Brava, may this be proof that haters can be your best promoters. Thank you for being a breath of fresh air in the influencer world.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:52 am

      LOL they do say there’s no bad press… I think I know which subreddit you are referencing and without even visiting I can bet which commenter it is. I am glad it brought you here, welcome!

  11. Sarah
    January 26, 2021 / 4:29 pm

    I found this post so interesting and informative! You educated me on some aspects of the clothing industry (grading of clothes for plus size bodies, ethics in clothing supply chains). Thank you so much!

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:52 am

      My pleasure! We deserve to be informed customers.

  12. Chelsea
    January 26, 2021 / 3:59 pm

    Thank you for this review! I bought those same pants and had the same pocket experience. Like… how long do they think our arms are? I’m used to having things hemmed, but low pockets is just weird. Pants were returned. A t-shirt dress was also returned for being too tight in all the wrong places. Like you, I kept the turtleneck but it’s kind of scratchy so I don’t wear it that often. I also ordered masks early in the pandemic. They were so small I ended up giving them to a neighbor with 3 young daughters.

    I have been craving all the color during these drab times we live in, and it’s too bad that this is such a disappointment because there is so much potential!

    xoxo

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:53 am

      I hope to see change in this brand. They are so close to awesomeness, if they make the changes I will be a mega customer!

  13. Ambrosia Salad
    January 26, 2021 / 3:21 pm

    Add me to the list of those who appreciate this review after having The Kit follow me around social media! I’ve had my eye on that Issa Jumpsuit. I am not your shape or height and your details helped me to pull the trigger and purchase one. I find this review very balanced and fair; I hope Daniel does see it and improve his offerings for women who are of a larger size. Thanks again, Alison, for all you do for us.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:53 am

      Do let me know how the jumpsuit works for you! It’s really a fun piece!

  14. msmummyak
    January 26, 2021 / 12:59 pm

    THIS is why I read Wardrobe Oxygen and have for over a decade. Thank you for your honest reviews and being a body I can relate to!

  15. Jess
    January 26, 2021 / 12:28 pm

    Thank you for another great review, Allie. You continue to be a blogger I can trust.

    • Sunny
      January 27, 2021 / 5:58 am

      Agree!

  16. Cari
    January 26, 2021 / 12:07 pm

    I appreciate this review. I’m usually a size 6, I’ve been wanting to try The Kit and I’ll size up on my order

    • E
      January 26, 2021 / 3:39 pm

      I have also been wanting to order from them, and also a size 6. But now I feel like I should just wait.. it feels frustrating that maybe the size chart provided on their site isn’t that accurate. Maybe they should provide garment measurements instead? I hope you try them and maybe come back and update us.

      As always, thank you for the in-depth review, Alison!

  17. Carmen
    January 26, 2021 / 12:01 pm

    I am a size 20 woman who loves fashion and color and has the money to spend. I guess I know where I won’t be going. I hope they change and I hope in a year you can update this review. Thanks Ali for always being honest with us.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:53 am

      I hope they change too, and if they do I will be sure to update this review!

  18. Nihongo Dame Desu
    January 26, 2021 / 11:55 am

    “I am over congratulating fashion brands for doing the absolute minimum.” I was so happy to read that, and I hope you’ll consider US, and what I see as you giving them and their horrible customer service a free pass because they deign to make close for larger women. If Nordstrom treated you and your readers like that repeatedly, I suspect you’d stop shopping there. US doesn’t have the fit and selection issues of The Kit, but it does repeatedly fail at customer service and I think the only reason they stay in business is because plus and cusp sized women have to accept less because the only other option is nothing at all. As larger women, we are programmed to accept whatever scraps are thrown to us (pun fully intended), whether that’s ill-fitted but pretty clothes or a brand that takes months to send us items and puts non-petite clothing in petite mystery box. “Shut up and be grateful you have anything at all” is the implicit message, and it’s insulting and disgusting.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:38 am

      I guess I want to know what the issue of US customer service is. Last year they had some serious errors, but they also dealt with COVID affecting stock and staff and production, and they are not a large company. They changed their distribution center as well which caused some issues. I felt they were really good with most customer complaints, doing what they could to make them right with returns, exchanges, free product, and apologies. If this is something ongoing you’ve dealt with I’d love to hear about it. I am not excusing them because I’ve worked with them, but because I am in a few FB groups with US customers and read their discussions and while we all agree the company is NOT perfect, they do seem to be righting their wrongs, communicating with their customers, and learning from their mistakes.

  19. Audrey M.
    January 26, 2021 / 11:31 am

    I’m one of your Instagram followers who asked for this review so thank you! Actually after that I just bit the bullet and placed an order for the midi tee dress in a different print. It looked so faded and cheap I sent it right back. I wondered if it was an accident or I got a return but now I think unfortunately it was how it was supposed to look.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:38 am

      Ugh, I am so sorry about that!

  20. Carolyn
    January 26, 2021 / 11:14 am

    Thank you SO MUCH for this review! I made an order this summer of two dresses and they fit but they were so unattractive on and I hated the fabric. I saw so many positive reviews online and also saw so many great photos on Instagram I thought it was just me. In case it matters I am a size 16 and bought 1X in both dresses.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:39 am

      The fabric is stiffer than it appears online, at least for the crepe material.

  21. Karen
    January 26, 2021 / 9:01 am

    I absolutely love the prints and colors. Bought a pack of masks and was so disappointed in the fit. Gave them away. Would love some basic pieces like the turtleneck but am a 16/18 and don’t enjoy shirts being too short. Pass for now but keeping an eye on the Kit for the future because I love the prints so much!

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:39 am

      I bought a 5-pack of the masks and one fit me great, the first one I tried. I gave away the rest and heard they didn’t all fit the same. So unfortunate.

  22. Alia
    January 26, 2021 / 8:57 am

    Oh! I forgot, got a mask with it, too. It actually fits really well — and I have to wear it at the office for 8+ hours — but the fabric is really rough against my face; I had to alternate it with the disposable ones I keep at my desk. Nowhere near as comfy as my athleata masks, but I keep in the car for grocery runs.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:39 am

      Athleta really does make great masks!

  23. Alia
    January 26, 2021 / 8:29 am

    I ordered two items from The Kit, a sweatshirt and a pair of joggers, and was completely underwhelmed. The cotton didn’t take the dyes as deeply as they looked on the website, so a jungle-y print for joggers looks a lot like camo, which (as a civilian employee of DoD), I don’t wear. The sweatshirt is prettier, but didn’t blow me away. I’m a size 16 and ordered a 1X, and the joggers are really big on me and the sweatshirt is a bit tight and definitely shorter than I like — plus, I find the terrycloth fabric kind of scratchy, nowhere near as comfy as I’d like for lounge clothes. I’m sad, but it’s a fail for me.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:40 am

      I am so sorry to hear that. Thank you for this feedback as those are two pieces I haven’t tried. I think sharing reviews like this is so helpful for potential The Kit customers to know what to look out for with size and style!

  24. Jane
    January 26, 2021 / 8:19 am

    I’ve been looking forward to your review! The prints are fabulous, and I finally ordered a floral turtleneck a few days before you mentioned on social that you’d be doing a review, so it hasn’t arrived yet. I will note that I am normally a size 12 and the size chart put me at a 14/XL, which happens from time to time, but it’s worrisome that the pieces still run small. This brand has so much potential, and I’m disappointed that the fit and quality issues overshadow that.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:48 am

      Please come back and let us know what you think of the turtleneck!

      • Janine
        January 29, 2021 / 1:15 pm

        Funny you should ask! I received it yesterday. It fits, although I wouldn’t complain about a little more room in the tummy area and slightly longer for a better tuck. The color is beautiful – it’s the Blush Iris – except that I was surprised to find that the upper portion of the turtleneck is a light pink/salmon color. From the website photos, I thought it was a white/cream color and had hoped to pair it with a range of blazers/cardigans with a pop of color underneath. So I’m still deciding whether it will work for me.

  25. E Chic
    January 26, 2021 / 7:17 am

    Beautiful prints, but just styles that don’t work for me. I love their turtlenecks but with a large chest I find that style so unflattering (I look like one walking boob in a turtleneck). I wish they offered V neck or scoop neck in any knit top, I would literally throw money at them.

    I hope vintage TV shows like What Not To Wear come back in style again. Then we might see more fashion where the CUT flatters the BODY. And something like this brand could really shine if they offered better necklines and other features that looked good on different bodies. Because man, I LOVE the patterns!

    • Katelin
      January 26, 2021 / 11:05 am

      I don’t understand why there is not a reboot of WNTW! I loved that show so much, Stacy and was it Cooper? They were so fun and honest. I loved them. It would even work with Covid, I think.

      • Nicole Kowalski
        January 26, 2021 / 3:49 pm

        Stacy and Clinton! I loved that show so much. I dreamed of going in (like so many of us). I loved that they helped women of all ages, walks of life, and bodies. They were all about loving your body and self confidence. The opposite of those Frankenstein shows where the plastic surgeried everybody or Biggest Loser.

        Sigh. Now we just get Bachelors and botoxed Housewives and teen hottie shows.

    • Nicole Kowalski
      January 26, 2021 / 3:44 pm

      Are there any designers who design for breasts? I mean, I think aesthetically, they hate them. So many tops and dresses fit well in shoulders, but strain across my bust. I’m a size 10-12 but always order XL in tops to cover my bust. So often the top doesn’t look right because as they size garments larger they also change where the bust hits. And the shoulders are too big. Even plus size retailers feature women with proportionately smaller breasts. My request? DESIGNS FOR BOOBS!!

      Whew! Thanks for letting me get that off my chest (LOLOL).

      • Jax
        January 26, 2021 / 11:22 pm

        100% agree!

      • January 29, 2021 / 9:50 am

        LOLOLOL I feel you! Check out Bravissimo and for button-front shirts, Campbell & Kate. They both cut for curves purposefully. Other than that, Universal Standard rarely lets me down in the boob department!

        • Nicole
          January 29, 2021 / 2:42 pm

          Thanks! But, why do designers hate boobs?

          • January 29, 2021 / 2:44 pm

            For the same reason they hate plus size women. It requires them to do some work and maybe buy a new mannequin. I think it’s lazy, they learn how to dress straight small bodies in school and never do the effort to branch out.

  26. Karen
    January 26, 2021 / 7:02 am

    Thank you for this thorough and detailed review. I tried The Kit’s masks after seeing you in them early in the pandemic. Loved the prints, loved the fabric, the masks themselves did not fit, the face piece was to small and the ties to large…but.i was intrigued with his prints, and have revisited the site thinking that the turtlenecks would eventually morph into tee shirts and thought i might buy something at some point. Alas, based on your review, i think I’ll put this on my nice to look at, don’t bother ordering list. I’m not into tight, body con and while I’m good at laundry, I don’t intentionally buy items that need to be babied, too much stress.

    • January 29, 2021 / 9:50 am

      Yeah, I am having less and less patience for babying clothes these days. We’ll see how this turtleneck holds up…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

powered by chloédigital